Undergraduate Library Reference Collection Resources

Provides an introduction and guide to current research trends in the field, includes definitions both for the varieties of English and regions they feature, and for terms and concepts derived from a linguistic analysis of these varieties

Includes over 5,100 terms, grouped into over 3,000 entries, reflects recommendations by a team of experts in phonetics, phonology, syntax, semantics, sociolinguistics and psycholinguistics, incorporates new ideas stemming from the minimalist program, contains a separate table of abbreviations and table of symbols, along with an updated International Phonetic Alphabet, and updates entries to reflect the way established terms are now perceived in light of changes in the field, providing a unique insight into the historical development of linguistics.

The dictionary covers every aspect of this multidisciplinary field, including sociolinguistics, language theory and history, language families, and major languages from all over the world (including major national/regional dialects), phonetics, formal semantics, and key figures and ideas in linguistics.

The Encyclopedia encompasses the full range of topics in linguistics, including such areas as historical, comparative, formal, mathematical, functional, philosophical, and sociolinguistics. Special attention is given to interrelations within these branches of the field and to relations of linguistics with other disciplines.

Contains information on 7,106 known living languages.

This guide offers electronic resources supporting teaching and research in linguistics. Included are indexes to articles in scholarly journals, online full-text sources, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other resources.