Undergraduate Library Reference Collection Resources

This atlas provides physical maps as well as thematic maps covering such aspects as population, food, minerals, climate, and energy. It combines state-of-the-art cartographic technology and information with dynamic and diverse physiographic and cultural content.

Contains archival that trace the battles, political turmoil, and defining themes of the American Civil War.

Contains newly researched and updated maps illustrating the diverse issues of the region today. Boundary and territorial disputes, the uneven distribution of natural resources, and booming population pressures are detailed as are the rise and falls of empires, civilizations, major conflicts, holy sites, and other significant events that have shaped the region.

Contains maps of physical Europe from the Early, Central, and Late Middle ages (ca. 1100-1500 CE)

Contains maps of South Africa from before, during, and after apartheid

Contains maps and papers collected and used by Jean Baptiste Donatien de Vimeur, comte de Rochambeau (1725-1807) during and after the American Revolution (1776 to 1783). ... Included in the collection are 40 manuscript and 26 printed maps, and a manuscript atlas. These cartographic materials are in the Library of Congress' Geography and Map Division.

Resources at the University of Michigan for research in geography.

This guide provides online resources for topographic maps and bathymetric charts that can be accessed digitally.

Information on maps and mapping agencies.

Includes links to historical and current maps of Washtenaw County, MI, Ann Arbor, MI, and the Universtiy of Michigan.

Guide to finding map resources of Detroit and southeastern Michigan.

An introduction and guide to finding and using Sanborn fire insurance maps at UM and elsewhere.