Offers primarily electronic resources supporting teaching and research in Linguistics. Included are indexes to articles in scholarly journals, online full-text sources, encyclopædias, dictionaries, and other resources on the web.
Last Updated: Jul 22, 2014
- The Linguist List
The world's largest online linguistic resource
- Electronic Journals in Linguistics
- Linguistics, Natural Language, and Computational Linguistics Meta-index
- Haskins Labs
Language, Linguistics, and Speech related Sites
- SIL International
(formerly known as the Summer Institute of Linguistics)
The free encyclopedia of linguistics
- Lingua Pranca: An Anthology of Linguistic Humor
Succeeded by: Speculative Grammarian
(Archives: Indiana University)
- The Eclectic Company: Language & Linguistics
- Surrey Morphology Group
Syncretism, Agreement, Suppletion Databases for various languages
- MIT CogNnet
(CogNet Library is a searchable collection of full text books, journals, reference works, OpenCourseWare links and conference materials on the cognitive sciences. Materials are from the MIT Press and other organizations.)
- The Project on Annotated Bibliography of Contemporary Research in Tense, Grammatical Aspect, Aktionsart, and Related Areas
- UCLA Language Materials Project (LMP)
UCLA Language Materials Project (LMP) is an on-line bibliographic database of teaching and learning materials for over 150 Less Commonly Taught Languages (LCTLs). Funded by the US Department of Education's International Education and Research program, the
- The Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics
Second edition of this 14-volume encyclopedia, published in 2005. ELL2 is the most comprehensive encyclopedia of linguistics, with over 3,000 articles, 1500 illustrations and 38,000 references. Includes about 700 biographical entries and 200 language maps. Keith Brown, editor.
- The Psychology of Linguistics and Body Language
- Landelijke Onderzoekschool Taalwetenschap (the Netherlands National Graduate School of Linguistics) LOT
LOT Dissertation Series [ http://www.lotpublications.nl/index3.html ] and LOT Occasional Series [ http://lotos.library.uu.nl/index.html ]
- Lexicon of Linguistics
Editors: Johan Kerstens, Eddy Ruys, Joost Zwarts.
Utrecht institute of Linguistics OTS.
Copyright © 1996-2001.
- Atlas of Pidgin and Creole Language Structures
The Atlas of Pidgin and Creole Language Structures, edited by Susanne Maria Michaelis, Philippe Maurer, Martin Haspelmath, and Magnus Huber, and published by Oxford University Press, shows the distribution of 130 structural features in 76 pidgin, creole and other mixed languages.
- Compendium of Translation Software
- Ethnologue: Languages of the World
- Find resources by language (Language Resource Center, University of Michigan)
- Global Mapping International: World Language Phyla/Family Mapping - Dr. Stephen Huffman
Dr. Huffman has classified the languages of the Ethnologue into broader groupings following Merritt Ruhlen’s A Guide to the World’s Languages (published 1987, 1991 by Stanford University Press).
- Foundation for Endangered Languages
- iLoveLanguages Page
(Formerly the Human Languages Page)
- The Language Gulper
Detailed descriptions of the main languages of the world in a clear, concise way. Its goal is to describe languages in a scholarly but accessible way employing a more or less similar format for each article. Its scope is not only living languages but also ancient ones of historical or cultural importance. So far, “The Language Gulper” includes 131 individual language pages, 40 about families and branches and 8 about linguistic areas.
- Languages of the World Blog-Spot
- OLAC: Open Language Archives Community
OLAC, the Open Language Archives Community, is an international partnership of institutions and individuals who are creating a worldwide virtual library of language resources by: (i) developing consensus on best current practice for the digital archiving of language resources, and (ii) developing a network of interoperating repositories and services for housing and accessing such resources.
A guide to written language
- The Rosetta Project
- The World Atlas of Language Structures (WALS)
The World Atlas of Language Structures (WALS) is a large database of structural (phonological, grammatical, lexical) properties of languages gathered from descriptive materials (such as reference grammars) by a team of 55 authors (many of them the leading authorities on the subject).
- World Language Mapping System
Set of worldwide language homeland areas (polygons) and point locations for use in Geographic Information Systems (GIS)