Undergraduate Library Reference Collection Resources

This dictionary explores the stories behind names and sayings that can be found in classic literature and beyond.

A comprehensive resource that offers explanations of almost twelve hundred terms found in literature.

A comprehensive encyclopedia covering various topics in literature reference.

Covers American authors from many periods and genres, building a broad understanding of the various contexts - from the biographical to the literary to the historical - in which literature can be viewed.

This resource provides comprehensive coverage of literature from the Abbey Theatre to Israel Zangwill, covering the entire history of literature in the United Kingdom and the Republic of Ireland in the major literary languages (Anglo-Saxon, English, Welsh, Scots, Irish, and Latin).

This enyclopedia comprehensively documents and interprets the books read by children throughout the world.

A encyclopedia with entries on themes and motifs, individuals, characters and character types, national traditions, and genres of folk and fairy tales from around the world.

This resource examines topics of genres (from ancient epic to the novel and contemporary experimental writing), periods (from realism and Romanticism to postcolonialism), devices and powers (imagination, plot, character, style, and emotion), and contexts and uses (in relation to inquiry, morality, and politics).

A guide that combines a broad grounding in the essential texts and contexts of the modernist movement with the unique insights of scholars whose careers have been devoted to the study of modernism.

A resources that covers world fiction, historical context, writers, works, literary theory, allusions, characters, and plot summaries.

This guide presents more than 400 biographies of authors, critics, literary characters, and historical figures, and 150 plot summaries of major works.

A reference that covers writers from the ancient Greeks to 20th-century authors. Includes biographical-bibliographical entries on nearly 500 writers and approximately 550 entries focusing on significant works of world literature.

This handbook offers a comprehensive pathway into the field of world literature.

A guide that inverts classic literature education.

The largest curated online collection of literary criticism in the world, Literature Criticism Online brings together up to 10 acclaimed multidisciplinary series representing a range of modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras and genres.

On online resource that brings together Gale's premier literary databases in a new digital environment that allows researchers, faculty and students to search across these resources to discover and analyze content in entirely new ways.