Undergraduate Library Reference Collection Resources

Provides thorough coverage of films and filmmakers, including legendary films, actors and actresses, directors, writers and other production artists.

A reference containing definitions and descriptions of various techniques, movements, individuals, and works related to the film industry.

An authoritative reference providing over 2,200 entries on terms used in media and communication, from concepts and theories to technical terms, across subject areas that include advertising, digital culture, film studies, journalism, new media, radio studies, and telecommunications.

This reference provides a comprehensive and accessible introduction to film and film studies, covering such aspects as production, national traditions, studios, genres, critical theory and film history.

A resource that provides entries on the relationship between American society and movies and filmmaking in the United States from the late 19th century through the present.

A comprehensive survey of major concepts, thinkers, and debates about the meaning, uses, and value of all the arts—from painting and sculpture to literature, music, theater, dance, television, film, and popular culture.

This encyclopedia identifies, describes, and analyzes films that meet the criteria of the epic (sweeping drama, panoramic landscapes, lengthy adventure sequences, and, in many cases, casts of thousands), and looks at the wide variety of epics produced over the last century—from the silent spectacles of D. W. Griffith and biblical melodramas of Cecil B. DeMille to the historical dramas of David Lean and rollercoaster thrillers of Steven Spielberg.

This reference provides entries on directors, actors, histories, and themes, of 1940's Film Noir years for film fans, students, and scholars.

This reference provides a broad and comprehensive introduction to the topic of religion within film.

An encyclopedia that covers silent cartoon series, theatrical sound cartoon series, full-length animated features, television cartoon series, and animated television specials.

A straightforward guide that covers the different genres, theories, terms, and concepts related to cinema.

This handbook offers detailed information on production management and other aspects of the film industry.

A single-volume source of original scholarship on the intersection of film and media studies.

This title is a comprehensive digital filmmaking resource that guides readers through the the world of modern digital filmmaking.

This book spotlights the evolution of the entertainment industry over the entire span of the 20th century, covering everything from vaudeville to radio and from sports to television and movies.

An online database of information related to films, television programs, and video games, including cast, production crew, fictional characters, biographies, plot summaries, trivia and reviews.

A database that contains over 1,000 screenplays, along with detailed, fielded information on the scenes, characters and people related to the scripts.

This website offers a bibliographical index offering in-depth coverage of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals from 1972 to the present day.

A resource for American film information that covers the history of American cinema comprehensively from 1893 to 1975, with full or short records for films from 1976-2014.