Undergraduate Library Reference Collection Resources

This dictionary covers key aspects of ancient Greek and Roman life and literature, such as science, social structure, philosophy, and religion, and contains comprehensive articles on central figures, both real and mythological, from Achilles to Zeno.

This one-volume reference work provides in-depth information on all aspects of the Graeco-Roman world.

A complete and authoritative reference guide to the classical world and its literary heritage.

A comprehensive etymological dictionary of Greek in the English language.

An etymological dictionary that covers the entire Latin lexicon of Indo-European origin.

Focusing exclusively on real people, this dictionary covers a wide breadth of ancient biography in the realms of Greek and Roman history and politics, literature, philosophy, science, and art.

A comprehensive overview of the major cultures of the classical Mediterranean world—Greek, Hellenistic, and Roman—from the Bronze Age to the fifth century CE.

This encyclopedia explores location-based facets of the ancient world, including articles and photographs of Greco-Roman sites, cities, and colonies.

This encyclopedia covers an extensive array of topics on ancient Greece and Rome including daily life, art and architecture, philosophy, science, religion, statesmen, military leaders, emperors, and more.

This volume covers such pivotal events as the fall of Rome, the rise of Christianity, the origins of Islam, and the early formation of Byzantium and the European Middle Ages.

This handbook provides comprehensive guidance in areas such as epigraphy, numismatics, and manuscript studies.

This book contains papers by more than fifty scholars who elucidate the contribution of material as well as literary culture to our understanding of the Roman Empire.

This handbook explores current thinking in the study of Latin language and literature in the Middle Ages.

An online resource that offers books and articles on various topics in Classical Studies.

A collection of Greek and Latin texts alongside English translations.