Undergraduate Library Reference Collection Resources

This resource offers coverage of over 900 key terms used in the health studies field.

This dictionary includes A-Z entries on all areas of biomedicine, including anatomy, genetics, molecular bioscience, pathology, pharmacology, and clinical medicine.

An alphabetical listing of almost 5,000 words and phrases used in public health science and practice.

From absinthe to zabaglione, this dictionary reveals the origin, meaning, and development of a host of gastronomic terms.

This dictionary offers authoritative definitions of over 6,100 terms in nutrition and food technology, as well as nutrient composition data for 340 foods and an appendix on nutrient intake and other useful data.

A dictionary containing over 12,000 clear and concise entries, covering all aspects of medical science.

This two-volume set includes more than 200 entries on topics covering all aspects of health and behavior, along with a comprehensive set of additional resources, including entries on selected organizations and an appendix on other notable resources.

A resource that covers the biological, psychological, social, and economic aspects of health and aging and impacts within the health-care system.

An encyclopedia offering more than 1,200 articles on all aspects of health, including physical and mental health entries, biographies of major doctors and researchers, profiles of medical institutions, organizations, and corporations, descriptions of drugs and operations, articles on national health policies, and thematic health topics in the humanities.

This resource examines a broad range of topics such as environmental health, drug abuse, epidemiology, nutrition, demographics and diseases.

This encyclopedia provides a comprehensive summary of theory, research, practice, and policy on family health and wellness promotion for students and researchers.

This 7-volume set features more than 1,600 articles about a wide range of topics related to genetics, from Abortive Transduction to Zygotes.

This 5-vol. set provides more than 850 entries covering topics in nursing and allied health.

This resource provides detailed information on mental disorders and conditions, along with entries for prescription, alternative and over-the-counter drugs, as well as the various therapies used to treat mental disorders.

This encyclopedia examines the social, cultural, and political dimensions of mental illness in America.

A two-volume set offering more than 600 entries covering all the key aspects of childhood health from infancy to age 18.

This book offers an introduction to conducting studies in health science research.

This handbook examines a wide array of topics in a framework that approaches health care as a complex adaptive system.

A handbook that explores topics such as methodology of bioethics, autonomy, justice, death, and moral status, and newer issues, such as bio-banking, stem cell research, cloning, pharmacogenomics, bioterrorism, organ transplantation, and others.

This resource provides an annotated list of print and electronic biomedical and health-related reference sources, including internet resources and digital image collections.

This book covers child and adolescence health behavior, as well as that of adults, and integrates new developments within personality psychology (such as neurophysiology and temperamental traits) with health psychology and examines major health outcomes such as disease, the mechanisms between these outcomes and personality, and prevention and intervention programs.

This handbook is designed to assist students and practitioners for improved management of disasters, epidemics, health behavior, acute and chronic disease prevention, community and government action, environmental health, vulnerable populations, and more.

This volume covers a wide range of conceptual, epistemological and methodological issues in the philosophy of science raised by reflection upon medical science and practice.