Judaic Studies

Key Aramaic words, phrases, Talmudic Aramaic grammar, and abbreviations with English translation. With Rav Shmuel ha-Naggid's Introduction to the Talmud in English, tables of Talmudic weights and measures, and five fold-out charts.

Electronic resource.

An indispensable tool for all students of Gemara on every level. Features over 3,500 definitions, appendices, abbreviations, and more. Authoritative, easy-to-use, vowelized Aramaic text with English translation.

Published by the National Association of Professors of Hebrew in American Institutions of Higher Learning.

Published by Bar Ilan University Press.

Published by the Rabbinical Council of America.

Published by Soncino Press. Translated into English with notes, glossary, and indices under the editorship of Isidore Epstein (1894-1962).

A masterful introduction to the to the great repository of Jewish wisdom, the Talmud In The Essential Talmud, the renowned Israeli scholar and teacher Rabbi Adin Steinsaltz succinctly describes the history, structure, and methodology of the sacred text by which the Jewish people have lived and survived through the ages.

The Mishnah and the Babylonian Talmud, of which the latter is a commentary, are treated by Jews as their second canon and many of them still live by their rules. Even those who do not realize their enormous influence on Jewish life and history over the ages. A feminist commentary to these writings is intended to uncover the pervasive and deeply ingrained Jewish conceptions of women and gender, and the way these have shaped women’s social and religious position within Judaism over the centuries.

The most popular tractate of the Mishnah, and thus the most widely known part of the Talmud, is undoubtedly that of Avot, "Fathers." It is the only tractate to have entered the prayerbook whole, and is recited and studied, chapter by chapter, on spring and summer Sabbaths. It has often been translated and commented upon. Rabbi Stern's translation and commentary is different, however. Its translation is new and gender-neutral, and the commentary reflects the approach of both traditional and modern thinkers on Avot.

The Talmud: The Steinsaltz Edition makes Judaism's great compendium of tradition, law, and legend readily accessible to the modern English reader for the first time.

An edition of the Talmud published in the U.S. Zone of Allied-occupied Germany on behalf of Holocaust survivors housed in displaced persons (DP) camps. It is considered the first and only known edition of the Talmud to be published by a government body. Housed in the Special Collections Research Center.

This volume introduces students of rabbinic literature to the range of historical and interpretative questions surrounding the rabbinic texts of late antiquity. The editors, themselves well-known interpreters of Rabbinic literature, have gathered an international collection of scholars to support students' initial steps in confronting the enormous and complex rabbinic corpus.

Cambridge History of Judaism cover the history of the Jews from the Exile in 587 BCE to the early Roman period extending into the third century CE.

Drawing on available textual and material evidence, the fourteen essays presented here, written by leading experts in their fields, span a significant chronological and geographical range and cover material that has not yet received sufficient attention in scholarship

Provides a systematic account of biblical interpretation in Judaism, from well before the second century BCE through the end of the seventh century CE. Covers Rabbinic literature and also the interpretation of Scripture in distinct canons, from the Targumic literature and Dead Sea Scrolls to the New Testament and Church Fathers.

Title on added title page, volume 25-26, 42-47: Friedberg family Talmudic encyclopedia.

From major seminal works like the Mishnah or the Palestinian and Babylonian Talmuds, to Biblical commentaries, translations of Biblical books into Aramaic or relatively little-known mystical, liturgical or apocalyptic writings, here is a complete guide to the rich tradition of Jewish literature in the second to seventh centuries of the Common Era.

David C. Kraemer offers students of Judaism a sophisticated and accessible introduction to one of the religion's most important texts. Here, he brings together his expertise as a scholar of the Talmud and rabbinic Judaism with the lessons of his experience as director of one of the largest collections of rare Judaica in the world.

Translation of Einleiting in Talmud und Midrasch.

A collection of essays describing what is known about the history and composition of various rabbinic texts

Provides an overview of Jewish history from the biblical to the contemporary period, while simultaneously placing Jewish history into conversation with the most central historiographical methods and issues and some of the core source materials used by scholars within the field.

A comprehensive reference resource for Judaism in the Second Temple Period. This collection comprises 600 scholarly articles to support students and scholars studying Judaism in the Second Temple Period as well as covering the numerous texts and artefacts related to the period.

An incomparable introduction to a work of literature that has lived a full and varied life, this accessible book shows why the Talmud is at once a received source of traditional teachings, a touchstone of cultural authority, and a powerful symbol of Jewishness for both supporters and critics.

This exceptional work, with entries from Rav Abba to Rav Zutra, is an unprecedented study of every rabbi in the Talmud. The reader will find concise entries on every rabbinic personality mentioned in the Talmud, major and minor alike, and will discover such facts as their dates of birth, education, and occupation.