189 catalog results (accessed September 2023). The Joseph A. Labadie Collection is one of the oldest, largest, and most comprehensive collections of its kind, with materials on anarchism, anti-colonialist movements, antiwar and pacifist movements, atheism and free thought, civil liberties and civil rights, ecology, labor and workers’ rights, feminism, LGBTQ movements, prisons and prisoners, the New Left, the Spanish Civil War, and youth and student protest. Image: Joseph A. Labadie.
Offers a step-by-step approach to Yiddish as it is spoken and written today. Colloquial Yiddish provides the first widely available, easily accessible, comprehensive Yiddish course designed primarily for the twenty-first-century international English-speaking independent learner and suitable for use in Yiddish classes worldwide.
This all-new, multimedia Yiddish textbook will make learning Yiddish accessible, engaging, and a lot more intuitive. Its communicative approach combines the latest advances in language pedagogy with newly available digital tools, winsome characters, and an engaging design.
With new essays by David Birnbaum, Eleazar Birnbaum, Kalman Weiser, and Jean Baumgarten. Unlike other grammars and study guides for English speakers, Yiddish: A Survey and a Grammar fully describes the Southern Yiddish dialect and pronunciation used today by most native speakers, while also taking into account Northern Yiddish and Standard Yiddish, associated with secularist and academic circles.
Founded in 1979 by prominent Yiddish linguist and professor Dr. Mordkhe Schaechter in order to provide organizational support for the modernization, standardization and use of the Yiddish language in all spheres of daily life.
Started in 1941 (as the organ of the Freeland League for Territorialist Colonization), Afn Shvel is committed to the promotion and preservation of the Yiddish language and culture. Features articles of Yiddish cultural, literary, linguistic and communal interest, as well as a beautiful, modern layout, high-resolution photos, and extensive glossaries to help newer readers.
In geveb aims to be a central address for the study of all things Yiddish—the focal point for discussions of Yiddish literature, language, and culture, and the home for the next generation of Yiddish scholarship.
A Yiddish language journal published in Berlin between 1922-1924. Milgroim (meaning: Pomegranate) was a unique phenomenon, and was dedicated to Jewish arts, from various fields. Library holds volumes 1-2, 1922.
A project by the National Library of Israel and Tel Aviv University that provides digital versions of each paper, making it possible to view the papers in their original layout. Full-text search is also available for all content published over the course of each newspaper’s publication.
Available online through EBSCOhost, some issue available in print.
Originally focused on the study of sociology, history, psychology, language & literature of eastern European Jewry and later changed its center of attention to Jewish life in the United States. Issued between 1946-1983.
Explores Jewish life in Eastern Europe before, during and after World War II. The archive consists of nearly 400 interviews, conducted primarily in Yiddish, and mostly in small towns throughout Ukraine, Moldova, Romania, Hungary and Slovakia.
Uses digital technology to study and preserve the rich legacy of the Yiddish stage. Founded in 2012 by Joel Berkowitz and Debra Caplan, the DYTP comprises theatrical practitioners, research librarians, and scholars in higher education, who are among the world's leading authorities on Yiddish theatre and drama
This collection consists of 81 Israeli Yiddish entertainment posters, dating from the early 1930s to 1981. Most of the posters contain text, some with graphics, sometimes in one or two colors, others in full color. Aside from 2 posters from Eastern Europe and 1 poster from an overseas tour, the others are all from Israel.
Contains about 800 Yiddish books that belong to the Frankfurt University Library. The texts were printed in Hebrew letters in West, Central and East Europe. The dates range from the middle of the 16th century to the beginning of the 20th century.
By Joshua Fogel, York University (Toronto). A Translation of "Leksikon fun der nayer yidisher literatur" (8 volumes plus Berl Kagan's volume of additions and corrections). Also includes information from Chaim Beider's Leksikon of Soviet Yiddish writers. Includes 7086 biographical entries.
Includes Yiddish theater posters dating back more than a hundred years. These ephemeral pieces, with their bold titles, portraits of actors, and exuberant descriptions of plays, illustrate the dynamic Yiddish theater tradition in two major centers: New York and Buenos Aires.
Includes a total of 144 items.
Located on the first floor of North Quad, the Language Resource Center (LRC) is a computer lab, study and meeting space, as well as a library for foreign language materials.