Judaic Studies

A masterpiece of deep learning and fine sensibility,Robert Alter's translation of the Hebrew Bible, now complete, reanimates one of the formative works of our culture.

First published in 2004, The Jewish Study Bible is a landmark, one-volume resource tailored especially for the needs of students of the Hebrew Bible. It has won acclaim from readers in all religious traditions.

Features the oldest-known complete Hebrew version of the Holy Scriptures, side by side with JPS's renowned English translation. Its well-designed format allows for ease of reading and features clear type, an engaging and efficient two-column format that enables readers to move quickly from one language to another, and an organization that contemporary readers will find familiar.

The Koren Jerusalem Bible has been recognized as the most authentic Hebrew/English Tanakh. The Koren Hebrew Tanakh text is accompanied by a superb English translation by biblical and literary scholar Professor Harold Fisch. English text divisions parallel the Hebrew parshiyot, with chapter and verse numbers noted in the margins.

The premier study Bible used by scholars, pastors, undergraduate and graduate students, The New Oxford Annotated Bible offers a vast range of information, including extensive notes by experts in their fields; in-text maps, charts, and diagrams; supplementary essays on translation, biblical interpretation, cultural and historical background, and other general topics.

Online resource. U-M affiliation required.

Covers not only the biblical texts but also Ben Sira, the Dead Sea Scrolls, and the Hebrew inscriptions. Also covers the period from the earliest times to 200 CE.

This third edition is widely acclaimed as the most up-to-date dictionary for the Old Testament and related literature in classical Hebrew and Aramaic.

Online resource. U-M affiliation required.

Online resource. U-M affiliation required. The electronic version of the book publication program of Brill in the field of Biblical Studies, Ancient Near East and Early Christianity Studies.

2,316 titles (accessed in November 2022).

Includes Biblical and Non-Biblical Texts.

Contains academic articles on the named gods, angels, and demons in the books of the Hebrew Bible, Septuagint and Apocrypha, as well as the New Testament and patristic literature. This online version contains the second extensively revised edition.

Offers a comprehensive and in-depth rendering of the current state of knowledge on the origins and development of the Bible according to its different canonic forms in Judaism and Christianity.

A comprehensive reference resource for Judaism in the Second Temple Period. This collection comprises 600 scholarly articles to support students and scholars studying Judaism in the Second Temple Period as well as covering the numerous texts and artefacts related to the period.

Online resource. U-M affiliation required. Provides a cross-searchable platform which contains all available information regarding the textual history, textual character, translation techniques, manuscripts, and the importance of each textual witness for each book of the Hebrew Bible, including its deutero-canonical scriptures.

The Advanced Papyrologyical Information System at the University of Michigan is a “virtual library” that provides online access to our papyrological collection. Users are able to view digital images and detailed catalog records containing information on papyrus characteristics, corrections to published papyri, and republications. Image: P.Mich.inv. 5552 (Homily of Melito)

Includes automatically vocalization (nikud) tool.

3,000 years of Jewish texts in Hebrew and English translation, freely available, and encoded to support study, education and exploration of the intertextuality of the Jewish canon. Includes an expanding archive of Tanakh, Mishnah, Talmud, Midrash, Halakhah, Kabbalah, Liturgy, Philosophy, Tanaitic, Chasidut, Musar, Responsa, etc.

Mich. Ms. 88.
Digitized text available at HathiTrust Digital Library. For more information see: "The Michigan Codex: An Important Hebrew Bible Manuscript Discovered in the University of Michigan Library", by Eleazar Birnbaum (Vetus Testamentum, Vol. 17, Fasc. 4, Oct., 1967, pp. 373-415).