Skip to main content
Library Research Guides

Judaic Studies

Electronic and print resources supported by the University of Michigan Library's Judaica Unit, as well as external resources important for Judaic Studies, Yiddish, Hebrew, and many other topics.

Jewish Heritage Collection

    

Portrait of a People

Religious architecture

Portrait of a People is an exhibit which highlighted the treasures of the Jewish Heritage Collection dedicated to Mark and Dave Harris.  It was curated by Peggy E. Daub, Elliot H. Gertel, and Erica T. Lehrer from April 11 to August 19, 2005.

Contact Us

Elliot H. Gertel
Irving M. Hermelin Curator of Judaica
 
111-D Hatcher North
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-1205
Phone: (734) 936-2367
 
Marlene Gitelman
Hebrew and Yiddish Cataloger
Information Resources Specialist
 
111-I Hatcher North
Ann ArborMI 48109-1190
Phone: (734) 936-2342
 
 

Already have a citation?

Already Have a Citation? Learn about MGetIt and citation linking

Citation Linker SFX

Databases

The Library provides thousands of resources online, such as full-text journals, books and citation databases, some of which are helpful when conducting research in the area of Judaica. A list of relevant resources are provided under the "Digital resources" tab. To find out what other databases we have and to find citations to journal articles, use Library Search.

 NOTE: Some resources are restricted to members of the University of Michigan community and are accessible through the use of a uniqname and password.

Holdings in the Special Collections Research Center

The Special Collections Research Center on the sixth floor of the Hatcher Graduate Library holds a growing number of rare Hebraica books and manuscripts including a tenth century Pentateuch; eighteenth century miniature Torah scroll; high quality facsimile reproductions of the Leningrad Codex, The Rothschild Miscellany, and Damascus Pentateuch, among many others; the Joseph T. and Marie Adler Collection of Holocaust Materials, which consists of correspondence, documents, posters, stamps, currency, and other Holocaust memorabilia and realia assembled by Mr. Adler over the course of more than fifty years; the papers of Yehudah Leyb Levin, a prominent rabbi in Detroit during the first quarter of the twentieth century; the Jewish Heritage Collection dedicated to Mark and Dave Harris consisting of artwork, realia, books, and ephemera on all aspects of the Jewish experience, a collection that continues to grow; and about forty percent of the Schwarz Collection is also located in the Special Collections Research Center.

 

Related research guides

There are many research guides created by University of Michigan Library staff that may be relevant when conducting research on Judaic topics.  There is a listing of Hebrew and Yiddish films under the Foreign Language Films tab within the Askwith Collection guide.

New additions to the collection

Loading ...