101 catalog results (updated April 2023). Illustrations, books and materials by or about Jewish-American, Polish born artist Arthur Szyk (1894-1951) housed at the Special Collections Research Center as well as in other collections at the U-M Library.
64 catalog results (updated September 2021). Includes works by Jerusalem School movement artists Ephraim Moses Lilien, Zeev Raban, Jacob Steinhardt, Menachem Shemi, Abel Pann, and others. Housed mainly in the Jewish Heritage Collection (JHC). Image: Abel Pann, A young ashkenazic girl, in Twelve original lithographic pictures of types and scenes of Jerusalem, call number NC 1165 .P3 T84 1925
Includes images and supporting descriptions of approximately 600 objects from the Jewish Heritage Collection (JHC). Descriptions are searchable by keyword or with an advanced search of category, material (Art & Architecture Thesaurus vocabulary), item number, holiday or ritual (Library of Congress Subject Headings), geographic origin, location in collection, and donor/source. Users can browse all media, all records, or by topic.
116 items available (last update: September 2023). The majority of these items are in the Jewish Heritage Collection (JHC). Image: Saul Raskin, Pirke Aboth in Etchings, call number BM 506 .A2 R372 1940.
Showcases the Jewish contribution to the visual arts and architecture from antiquity to the present from a variety of perspectives, including history, iconography, semiotics, psychology, sociology, and folklore.
A collection of digitized images and information about Jewish artifacts from all over the world. The online collection includes more than 260,000 images of objects and artifacts from 700 museums, synagogues and private collections in 41 different countries, as well as architectural drawings of 1,500 synagogues and Jewish ritual buildings from antiquity to the modern day.
A comprehensive, scholarly art reference work offering global coverage of all forms of the visual arts: painting, sculpture, architecture, graphic and decorative arts, and photography, from prehistory to the present. Includes 30,000 articles from nearly 7,000 contributors.
E.M. Lilien (1874-1925) was an internationally renowned Austrian printmaker, illustrator, and photographer. He is often considered the most prominent Jewish artist to be associated with Art Noveau or Jugendstil, a new international style coming out of the European Secession movement at the turn of the twentieth century.
The collection was established in 2010 following the transfer of the Judah L. Magnes Museum to the University of California, Berkeley. Its remarkably diverse archive, library and museum holdings include art, objects, texts, music, and historical documents about the Jews in the Global Diaspora and the American West.
Founded as a state-approved non-profit organisation, the Musée d’art et d’histoire du Judaïsme (mahJ) opened in 1998 with the support of the City of Paris and the State. The mahJ collection comprises more than 12,000 works and a wealth of archive documents. Image: Le père, Marc Chagall, Paris (1911)
Includes materials for Schneid's unpublished book on 20th century Jewish artists in Europe, manuscripts for his published and unpublished works, correspondence with over 120 Jewish artists, copies of their exhibition catalogues, and other publications. Most of these artists perished during World War II. Digitized materials are available open access at the Internet Archive.