Judaic Studies

Provides recommended resources for Judaic Studies and highlights Judaica reference and special materials at the U-M Library and beyond.

Welcome!

The Judaic studies collection at the U-M Hatcher Graduate Library supports the work conducted by students and faculty affiliated with the Frankel Center for Judaic Studies as well with other departments on campus. The collection contains materials in humanities and social sciences in a variety of formats: printed and electronic books and journals, pamphlets, digital databases, microforms, videos, audio recordings, graphic novels, objects, artworks, photos, postcards, and ephemera in Hebrew, Yiddish, Ladino, Aramaic, and other Jewish languages, as well as Western languages. There are approximately 140,000 books and serial publications in Judaic studies topics, 3,500 items in the Jewish Heritage Collection (JHC), and 1,600 items in the rare section of the Special Collections Research Center (updated in April 2024). Acquisition funds have been supplemented by several Judaica trust funds and gifts, including those endowed by Martha K. Bindeman, Frances and Hubert Brandt, Noreen and Kenneth A. Buckfire, Arnold M. Heyman, the Lucius N. Littauer Foundation, Jerold Solovy, and Bruce and Ileane Thal. Besides the Hatcher Graduate Library, Judaic Studies materials are also housed in other U-M campus libraries such as the Askwith Media Library, the Fine Arts Library, the Music Library, the Art, Architecture, and Engineering Library, and the Bentley Historical Library.

Encyclopedias & reference

Bibliography of Jews in the Islamic World
Publication Date: 2009

Created following the tradition and style of the Index Islamicus. This compilation brings to light a long tradition of research on the cultural interaction and shared history of Jews and Muslims, carried out by scholars of Islam and Judaism alike.
Cambridge Dictionary of Judaism and Jewish Culture
Publication Date: 2011

Its entries, written by eminent scholars, define the spiritual and intellectual concepts and religious movements that distinguish Judaism and the Jewish experience; they discuss central personalities and places, formative events and enduring literary and cultural contributions and they illuminate the lives of ordinary Jewish men and women.
Dictionary of Jewish Biography
Publication Date: 2005

Modelled on the highly acclaimed Dictionary of Christian Biography (Continuum 2001), the Dictionary of Jewish Biography provides a rapid reference to all those Jewish men and women who have, over the last four thousand years, contributed to the life, history and study of Judaism in all its facets.
Dictionary of Jewish Terms: a guide to the language of Judaism
Publication Date: 2008

The vocabulary of Judaism includes religious terms, customs, Hebrew, Aramaic and Yiddish terms, terms related to American Jewish life and the State of Israel. All are represented in this new guide, with easy to read explanation and cross-references.
Encyclopedia of Jewish book cultures online
Being an encyclopedia on book cultures rather than book contents, this work places textuality and materiality of the book in the center of its investigation.
Encyclopedia of Jewish history and culture online (Brill)
From Europe to America to the Middle East, North Africa and other non-European Jewish settlement areas, the Encyclopedia of Jewish History and Culture covers the recent history of the Jews from 1750 until the 1950s.
Encyclopaedia Judaica
Publication Date: 1972

26-volume English-language encyclopedia of the Jewish people and of Judaism. It covers diverse areas of the Jewish world and civilization, including Jewish history of all eras, culture, holidays, language, scripture, and religious teachings.
Encyclopedia Judaica (2nd edition)
Publication Date: 2007

Provides an exhaustive and organized overview of Jewish life and knowledge from the Second Temple period to the contemporary State of Israel, from Rabbinic to modern Yiddish literature, from Kabbalah to "Americana" and from Zionism to the contribution of Jews to world cultures.
Encyclopedia of Jewish Symbols
Publication Date: 1992

The Encyclopedia of Jewish Symbols contains more than 250 definitions and descriptions for ceremonial objects and images, personalities, places, concepts, motifs, and events all representing central Jewish ideas that continue to play a meaningful role in defining Jewish experience today.
Encyclopedia of Jews in the Islamic World
Covers the Jews of Muslim lands particularly in the late medieval, early modern and modern periods.
Encyclopedia of the Jewish Diaspora: Origins, Experiences, and Culture
Publication Date: 2008

Provides a resource on the evolution and dynamics of the Jewish Diaspora as it played out around the world, from its beginnings to the present.
Handbook of Jewish Languages
An introduction to the many languages used by Jews throughout history, including Yiddish, Judezmo (Ladino), and Jewish varieties of Amharic, Arabic, Aramaic, Berber, English, French, Georgian, Greek, Hungarian, Iranian, Italian, Latin American Spanish, Malayalam, Occitan (Proven al), Portuguese, Russian, Swedish, Syriac, Turkic (Karaim and Krymchak), Turkish, and more.
Historical Atlas of Hasidism
Publication Date: 2018

First cartographic reference book on one of the modern era's most vibrant and important mystical movements. Winner of the 2018 Judaica Reference and Bibliography Award (Association of Jewish Libraries), and the 2018 National Jewish Book Award for Scholarship (Nahum Sarna Memorial Award).

See also: Historical Atlas of Hasidism (a presentation by Marcin Wodzinski at the Library of Congress)

Jewish American Literature
Publication Date: 2004

It is intended to guide readers and those who advise readers in selecting fiction and nonfiction books that match specific reading interests. It is the first readers' advisory guide to Jewish American literature.
Jewish Languages from A to Z
Publication Date: 2020

Provides an engaging and enjoyable overview of the rich variety of languages spoken and written by Jews over the past three thousand years. The book covers more than 50 different languages and language varieties.
Jewish Women in America: an historical encyclopedia
Publication Date: 1998

Lexicon of Jewish Names in Late Antiquity
Publication Date: 2002

Includes the Jewish people we know and those we think were Jews from Palestine after 200 CE and before the Arab conquest. Most of the information is derived from the Palestinian Talmud and inscriptions from Jewish cemeteries such as Beit Shearim. Also lists the Samaritans known by name from Palestine.
New Encyclopedia of Judaism
Publication Date: 2002

A comprehensive one-volume encyclopedia that accessibly presents every aspect of the Jewish religion and represents current thinking among scholars in the Reform, Conservative, and Orthodox movements.
The Newish Jewish Encyclopedia
Publication Date: 2019

From the hosts of Tablet magazine's wildly popular Unorthodox podcast, the Newish Jewish Encyclopedia is an edifying, entertaining, and thoroughly modern introduction to Judaism. It offers everything: from an illustrated guide to determining different Hasidic sects based on their garb to practical advice for throwing an unconventional Jewish wedding to humorous, accessible explanations of Judaism's myriad holidays.
Oxford Handbook of Jewish Studies
Publication Date: 2003

Covers all the main areas currently taught and researched as part of Jewish Studies in universities throughout the world, especially in Europe, the United States, and Israel.
Posen Library of Jewish Culture and Civilization
The Posen Library of Jewish Culture and Civilization is a vibrant, growing collection curated by leading Jewish Studies scholars which offers unprecedented direct access to excerpts from thousands of primary sources reflecting Jewish creativity, diversity, and culture world-wide, spanning biblical times to the 21st century when complete.
Routledge Atlas of Jewish History
Publication Date: 2010

Spans over four thousand years of history in 154 maps, presenting a vivid picture of a fascinating people and the trials and tribulations which have haunted their story.
Routledge Handbook of Muslim–Jewish Relations
Invites readers to deepen their understanding of the historical, social, cultural, and political themes that impact modern-day perceptions of interfaith dialogue.
Yivo Encyclopedia of Jews in Eastern Europe
Publication Date: 2008

Provides the most complete picture of the history and culture of Jews in Eastern Europe from the beginnings of their settlement in the region to the present.

Encyclopedia of the Founders and Builders of Israel (in Hebrew)
The monumental 19-volume Encyclopedia of the Founders and Builders of Israel was compiled and published by David Tidhar (1897-1970) over the 23 years from 1947 until his death.
Jewish Encylopedia (1906)
Contains the complete contents of the 12-volume Jewish Encyclopedia, which was originally published between 1901-1906.
Jewish Women: A Comprehensive Historical Encyclopedia
Covers over 1,700 biographical entries, 300 thematic essays and 1,400 photographs and illustrations

Journals & magazines

AJS Review
Publishes scholarly articles and book reviews covering the field of Jewish Studies. From biblical and rabbinic textual and historical studies to modern history, social sciences, the arts, and literature, the journal welcomes articles of interest to both academic and lay audiences.
American Jewish History
Jewish History
The sole English-language publication devoted exclusively to historical research on the Jews. It also aims to extend the disciplinary boundaries of Jewish historical writing by encouraging scholars of anthropology, art, law, literature, and sociology to share their research when it crosses paths with history.
Jewish Quarterly Review
Established in 1889, The JQR is the oldest English-language journal in the field of Jewish studies.
Jewish Renaissance Magazine
A quarterly cultural magazine, founded in October 2001, covering Jewish culture, arts and communities in Britain and beyond.
Jewish Social Studies
Jewish Social Studies recognizes the increasingly fluid methodological and disciplinary boundaries within the humanities and is particularly interested both in exploring different approaches to Jewish history and in critical inquiry into the concepts and theoretical stances that underpin its problematics.
Jewish Studies journals online @ JSTOR
57 different Judaic Studies journals currently available (Consulted in January 2024).
Jewish Studies [Madaʻe ha-Yahadut]
Journal of The World Union of Jewish Studies.
Journal of Jewish Identities
An interdisciplinary peer-reviewed forum for contesting ideas and debates concerning the formations of, and transformations in, Jewish identities in its various aspects, layers, and manifestations.
Journal of Jewish languages
A venue for academic research in the multifaceted field of Jewish Languages. Jewish languages are the languages spoken and written by Jews in their communities around the world. Among these are Yiddish, Judeo-Spanish, Judeo-Arabic, Jewish Aramaic, Judeo-Italian, Judeo-French, Judeo-Provençal, Judeo-Persian, Jewish English, Jewish Malayalam and more.
Journal of Jewish Studies
Available online and in print. Published in Oxford, this is an international academic journal founded in 1948 for the promotion of research into all aspects of Jewish studies.
Judaica Librarianship
A forum for scholarship on all theoretical or practical aspects of Jewish Studies librarianship and cultural stewardship in the digital age; bibliographical, bibliometric and comprehensive studies related to Jewish booklore; historical studies or current surveys of noteworthy collections; and extensive reviews of reference works and other resources.
Ḳatedrah le-toldot Erets-Yiśrael ṿe-yishuvah
A journal for the history of Eretz-Israel (Holy-Land).
Ḳovets ʻal yad ; ṿe-hu sefer ha-asif kolel devarim ʻatiḳim neʻetaḳim mi-tokh kitve yad
קבץ על יד, שנתון חברת 'מקיצי נרדמים', הוא במה לפרסום טקסטים עתיקים במדעי היהדות מכתבי יד, שהיקפם קטן מספר.
Lilith: the Jewish women's magazine
Independent, Jewish & frankly feminist since 1976, Lilith magazine charts Jewish women's lives with exuberance, rigor, affection, subversion and style.

Databases & collections

Creation of Israel: British Foreign Office Correspondence on Palestine and Transjordan, 1940-1948
Documents related to the modern history of the Middle East and establishment of Israel as a sovereign state. Access provided via ProQuest History Vault.
Haifa Index to Hebrew Periodicals (IHP) = מפתח חיפה למאמרים
A multi-disciplinary bibliographic indexing project covering articles from Hebrew periodicals and monographs. Includes contents in Hebrew, English, and other languages.
Hebrew and Judeo-Arabic printing in Baghdad online
A collection of early and rare Hebraica housed in the Valmadonna Trust Library is the basis for this collection. Comprises resources for the study of oriental printing, Hebrew liturgical history, Judeo-Arabic literature, and the history and culture of the most ancient Jewish Diaspora community.
Israel's Messenger Online
The English language Zionist periodical Israel’s Messenger is an important source of knowledge about the Shanghai Jewish community in the years predating the establishment of the Jewish state and the role Jews of the time played in politics, science and international trade.
The Jewish Chronicle Archive
Provides electronic access to the original print version of the newspaper, going back over 175 years, to 1841.
Jewish Life in America, 1654-1954
An indispensable resource for all those interested in understanding and exploring the history of Jewish communities in America from their first arrival in New York in 1654 to the integral part that they play today. Material is sourced from the American Jewish Historical Society, New York. Access provided via Adam Matthew Primary Sources.
Jewish Studies @ Brill E-Books
1320 titles (updated in April 2024).
Jewish Studies @ EBSCOhost
A rich full-text database offering a multidisciplinary view of Jewish civilization, from its historical origins to the present. Provides hundreds of publications in Jewish Studies, including scholarly journals, magazines, books, monographs, biographies and more.
Jewish Studies @ JSTOR
57 journals and over 1200 books currently available (accessed in April 2024).
Jewish Studies @ Taylor & Francis
220 titles available (updated April 2024)
JFLIX
A platform dedicated to award winning films on various topics dealing with Judaism and Israel. From Jewish history through biographies of leaders, along with films about Israeli society and culture.
Kotar (Reference) Library
An online library and digital work environment, a result of cooperation with the leading publishers in Israel. Its goal is to make leading academic works (reference books, encyclopedias, journals, etc.) published over the past half century in Hebrew and English, available to school students, teachers, and researchers.
Maimonides’ Medical Works Online
Aims to provide critical editions of all surviving medical works by the famous rabbi, philosopher and medical doctor Moses Maimonides (1138-1204).
Middle East Online: Arab-Israeli Relations, 1917-1970
Offers the widest range of original source material from the British Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office and Cabinet Papers from the 1917 Balfour Declaration through to the Black September war of 1970-1.
Palestine Statehood Committee Records, 1939-1949
Consist of correspondence, memoranda, reports, publications, advertisements, and clippings related to five committees active in the United States from 1939 to 1949: the American Friends of a Jewish Palestine, the Committee for an Army of Stateless and Palestinian Jews, the Emergency Committee to Save the Jewish People of Europe, the American League for a Free Palestine, and the Hebrew Committee of National Liberation.
Sephardic Editions, 1550-1820 Online
This selection comprises the most influential works written or printed by the Iberian Jews in the major centers of the Western Sephardi Diaspora (e.g., the Netherlands, France, Italy, Germany, England).
Slavic and Judaica E-Books (EastView)
Ebooks on a range of topics, primarily from Russian publishers. The titles cover a range of topics including history, biography & memoirs, economics, ethnic studies, fine arts, foreign policy, Jewish studies, literature and literary criticism, philology, philosophy, and more.

Open access resources

Adventures in Jewish Studies - The Association for Jewish Studies Podcast
Launched in 2018, it produces five episodes annually. Each episode features the voices of AJS members as they share their expertise and research with listeners.
Association of Jewish Libraries Bibliography Bank
The Bibliography Bank was created to facilitate the sharing of bibliographies on Judaic topics among AJL members and the public at large. All bibliographies included in the Bank are available as PDF files.
Below the Line: The Feuilleton & Modern Jewish Cultures
“Below the Line” provides open-access resources for those interested in learning more about the feuilleton and its importance in the formation of modern Jewish cultures.

more... less...

The Feuilleton Project explores the feuilleton as a critical juncture in the production of modern cultures and the public sphere and a productive space for interdisciplinary and multilingual inquiry.
Berman Jewish Databank
The Berman Jewish Databank @ The Jewish Federations of North America acquires, archives and provides open access to quantitative studies and related materials on North American Jews and Jewish communities; promotes use of its resources by its stakeholders.
Blavatnik Archive
A nonprofit foundation dedicated to preserving and disseminating materials that contribute to the study of 20th-century Jewish and world history, with a special emphasis on World War I, World War II, and Soviet Russia.
Brown University Judaic Studies Open Access Books
Books in Judaic Studies available available in digital, open access format, with with the support of a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities/Andrew W. Mellon Foundation Humanities Open Book Program.
Centropa
A non-profit, Jewish historical institute dedicated to preserving 20th century Jewish family stories and photos from Central and Eastern Europe and the Balkans, and disseminating these stories and photos through films, books and exhibitions.
Footprints: Jewish Books Through Time and Place
A database to track the circulation of printed "Jewish books" (in Hebrew, other Jewish languages, and books in Latin and non-Jewish vernaculars with Judaica contents).
Harvard's Judaica Digital Collection
The Judaica Collection's many digital materials document the life and culture of the Jewish people, with particular focus on life and culture in Israel.
The Historical Dictionary Project (Ma'agarim)
The paramount project of the Academy of the Hebrew Language is the Historical Dictionary; the creation of this enormous and most important enterprise was decided upon shortly after the Academy was established in 1953.
Historical Jewish Press
Contains a collection of Jewish newspapers published in various countries, languages, and time periods. We display digital versions of each paper, making it possible to view the papers in their original layout.
Jewish Languages
Most longstanding Jewish languages are now endangered, but new ones are emerging. Many people have heard of Aramaic, Yiddish, and Ladino, but knowledge of other Jewish languages is less common, such as Judeo-Greek, Jewish Malayalam, and contemporary Jewish French. This site shares resources on these and other languages.
Jewish Virtual Library
A project of the American-Israeli Cooperative Enterprise (AICE). Includes sessions with maps.
Judaica Digital Collection @ Goethe Universität, Frankfurt am Main
48.912 digitized titles (consulted in July 2024).
Ktiv - International Collection of Digitized Hebrew Manuscripts (National Library of Israel)
The vision of Ktiv, the International Collection of Digitized Hebrew Manuscripts is to allow readers across the globe to access the complete corpus of existing Hebrew manuscripts.
Mapping Modern Jewish Cultures Website
Launched by Professor Shachar Pinsker. This initiative projects maps, analyzes, and reconstructs the network of Jewish café culture in cities across several continents: Odessa, Warsaw, Vienna, Berlin, New York City and Tel Aviv. The project demonstrates how urban cafés acted as a modern “silk road” in the creation of modern Jewish culture.
Ohio State University Libraries Historic Jewish Pamphlets Collection
Purchased from a Judaic/Hebraic Old Books Store in Amsterdam in the 1960s, the Historic Jewish Pamphlets collection at The Ohio State University Libraries includes books and Judaic ephemera (“gray literature”) in various languages, mainly German, Dutch and Hebrew, from the 18th to early 20th century. Image: Palästina, eine Werbeschrift für die jüdische Arbeit in Erez Israel (1910).
RAMBI - Index of Articles on Jewish Studies
A bibliography of academic articles in Jewish Studies and Israel Studies, based largely on the collections of the National Library of Israel. The articles listed in RAMBI are collected from thousands of journals, in print or electronic, from collections of articles and from offprints sent by researchers.
Union List of Digitized Jewish Historic Newspapers, Periodicals and e-Journals
The list consists of one page for titles in Latin script (includes also some Cyrillic titles), and one page for Hebraic scripts (Hebrew, Yiddish and Ladino).
University College London's Jewish Pamphlets Collection
The pamphlet collections cover a wide range of subjects throughout the field of Jewish Studies, particularly Anglo-Jewish history, Zionism and liturgy. The pamphlets date from 1601 onwards, and are in English, Hebrew and a number of other languages. Many of them are held in very few libraries, while some are extremely rare.
Yerusha
An online platform which unites Jewish archival heritage held in hundreds of archives, libraries and museums across Europe. It features thousands of in-depth archival descriptions giving researchers access to a wealth of records covering all major subjects of Jewish history.
Yeshiva University Libraries Digital Collections
Unique digital collections from Yeshiva University Libraries.