Judaic Studies

Offers worldwide coverage of the origins, forms, practitioners, and effects of antisemitism, leading to the Holocaust and surviving to the present day. 650 A-Z entries by over 200 scholars from 21 countries . Illustrations such as caricatures, political cartoons, maps, and pictures of famous antisemites and historical episodes .

Provides a comprehensive compilation of the people and terms that are essential for an understanding of the Holocaust. In 2,000 entries, it profiles major personalities, covers concentration and death camps, cities and countries, and significant events. Also included are important terms translated from German, French, Polish, Yiddish, and twelve other languages.

Spans the globe to explain the issues behind crimes against humanity and human rights issues as they relate to individual countries and the world at large. It traces the history of events that qualify as genocide and crimes against humanity, profiles perpetrators and heroes, and explains international laws and law proceedings aimed at ending genocide and crimes against humanity.

A unique compilation of essays about the genocidal persecution fueling the Nazi regime in World War II. Written by world-renowned experts in the field, it confronts a vitally important and exceedingly difficult topic with sensitivity, courage, and wisdom, furthering our understanding of the Holocaust/Shoah psychoanalytically, historically, and through the arts.

Crafted by the research and production staff of the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum, the Historical Atlas of the Holocaust provides a unique depiction of Europe between 1933 and 1950. Compiled from archives around the world, the Atlas is based on extensive research into primary sources.

The historical dictionary is intended for the non-specialist with some background in history. However, it will also be of use as an accessible reference tool for more advanced research. Extensive introduction, comprehensive bibliography, and a chronology further supplement the usefulness of this volume.

This four-volume set provides reference entries, primary documents, and personal accounts from individuals who lived through the Holocaust that allow readers to better understand the cultural, political, and economic motivations that spurred the Final Solution.

Showcases a detailed look at the multifaceted attempts by Germany's Nazi regime, together with its collaborators, to annihilate the Jews of Europe during the Holocaust. Several introductory essays, along with a rich chronology, reference entries, primary documents, images, and a bibliography provide crucial information that readers will need in order to try to understand the Holocaust while undertaking research on that horrible event.

Holocaust movies have become an important segment of world cinema and the de-facto Holocaust education for many. One quarter of all American-produced Holocaust-related feature films have won or been nominated for at least one Oscar.

Featuring 300 alphabetically organized bio-critical essays on writers of memoirs, novels, poetry, short stories, and drama, ranging in length from 1,500 to 7,000 words, this comprehensive scholarly work presents a broad spectrum of voices remembering, interpreting, and reinterpreting one of the twentieth century's most politically and emotionally charged events.

This handbook draws on the work of an international team of forty-seven outstanding scholars.The handbook is thematically divided into five broad sections.

The Palgrave Handbook of Holocaust Literature and Culture reflects current approaches to Holocaust literature that open up future thinking on Holocaust representation.

Covering the entire spectrum of the literature of the Holocaust era, from the beginnings of Nazism through the concentration camp experience, survivor syndrome and second generation response, this detailed survey includes entries on more than 200 authors and 300 works. Author entries include detailed biographical information as well as expert analytical interpretation. Work entries discuss each work in detail and include a critical essay written by an expert in the field.

A 7-volume encyclopedia, the result of years of work by the Jack, Joseph, and Morton Mandel Center for Advanced Holocaust Studies at the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum, describes the universe of camps and ghettos--some 20,000 in all--that the Nazis and their allies operated, from Norway to North Africa and from France to Russia. For the first time, a single reference work will provide detailed information on each individual site.

The first volume to offer comprehensive insights into visitor reactions to a wide range of museum exhibitions, memorials, and memory sites. Drawing exclusively upon empirical research, chapters within the book offer critical insights about visitor experience at museums and memory sites in the United States, Poland, Austria, Germany, France, the UK, Norway, Hungary, Australia, and Israel.

A comprehensive survey of the most important writing to come out of the Holocaust.

This pioneering two-volume encyclopedia gathers data from historical studies, testimonies, and documents dealing with more than 1,100 ghettos throughout Eastern Europe. Supplemented by a special DVD of wartime footage of ghettos filmed in real time during the Holocaust.

Published by the Auschwitz-Birkenau State Museum in Oświęcim.

Previously Dapim le-ḥeḳer teḳufat ha-Shoʾah.
Published by the Institute for Research of the Shoah (University of Haifa and the Ghetto Fighters House).

An independent, peer-reviewed international journal featuring research articles, interpretive essays, and book reviews in the social sciences and humanities.

Published by Moreshet, The Mordechai Anielevich Memorial Holocaust Study and Research Center, The Stephen Roth Institute for the Study of Antisemitism and Racism, Tel Aviv University, and The Yale Initiative for the Interdisciplinary Study of Antisemitism.

A peer-reviewed semi-annual scholarly journal on the Shoah. Since its inception in 1957, Yad Vashem Studies has featured path-breaking and thought-provoking articles about the Shoah by the leading researchers and thinkers on the subject in the world.

70 catalog books (updated October 2024). Women’s Holocaust experiences are a distinct lens through which to view the Holocaust and its manifold repercussions for Jewish culture today. Thanks to the generous support of Lilith board member Frances Brandt, Lilith has created the Frances and Kathryn Brandt and Lilith Magazine Women’s Holocaust Memoir Collection at the University of Michigan.

Joseph Theo Adler and his wife, Marie F. (née Salomon) Adler, fled Nazi Germany after Joseph Adler's six-month internment in the concentration camp at Dachau, settling in Detroit, Michigan, in 1939. Joseph Adler was an avid philatelist and collector of information and memorabilia relating to his Jewish heritage, but also in a multitude of other areas as well: current events, notable figures, and travel, to name a few. The collection is organized into six series and their nested subseries approximating Joseph Adler's original arrangement.

105 letters documenting the experience of a German Jewish family before, during, and shortly after World War II. Nathan and Johannna Rosenberg of Breisach, Germany, had three sons: Julius (1900-1942), Eugen (1901-1964), and Alfred (1911-2005). Eugen left for Palestine in 1935. Alfred, with his wife, her parents, and her brother, immigrated to the United States in August 1938. Julius remained in Germany with his parents and was murdered at Auschwitz in August 1942. The letters were written to Alfred by his brothers, his parents, and other relatives between 1938 and 1946.

Explores Jewish life in Eastern Europe before, during and after World War II. The archive consists of nearly 400 interviews, conducted primarily in Yiddish, and mostly in small towns throughout Ukraine, Moldova, Romania, Hungary and Slovakia.

The archive’s collection consists of over 4,400 testimonies that record the experiences of over 4,000 survivors, witnesses, bystanders and liberators of the Holocaust. The testimonies are available for research and can be watched in thirty-seven partner locations worldwide, including the University of Michigan Library.

This database covers the entire four-decade period (from 1918 to 1959) in which Klemperer kept his diaries. Klemperer, who primarily identified as "German," was the son of a reform rabbi and converted to Protestantism in 1912. For the Nazis, however, he remained a Jew and was persecuted as such. His careful observations and analyses from the Weimar Republic, the National Socialist era, and the German Democratic Republic illuminate what it meant to live under these three regimes. As the Nazis rose to power, he adopted the role of a "cultural historian of the catastrophe," documenting the ongoing withdrawal of rights from Jews.

Documents relating to the British government's efforts to investigate and prosecute Nazi crimes during the period 1944-1949.

USC Shoah Foundation's Visual History Archive allows users to search through and view more than 54,000 video testimonies of survivors and witnesses of genocide.