Judaic Studies

Includes 70,000 main entries covering all strata and styles of language, each with all of its inflectional forms, with clear explanations, sources and usage examples. Rav-Milim includes a complete Hebrew Language Laboratory that instantly analyzes each Hebrew word entered, even the most complex of forms, dissecting it into simple elements.

A free online Hebrew-English and English-Hebrew dictionary.

The Gnazim Institute of the Hebrew Writers Association in Israel is the largest Hebrew literature archive in the world. More than 750 archival collections of writers, poets, essayists and playwrights from the late 19th century to the present, are preserved here.

In 2020, the National Library of Israel contacted the Senesh family and Ori and Mirit Eisen of Arizona, who generously agreed to help facilitate the transfer of the archive to the National Library. The archive includes, among other things, the manuscripts of her poems; personal diaries; extensive correspondence with her family and with others; photographs; personal documents; notebooks from the Agricultural School for Girls; the minutes of her trial in Budapest; as well as objects such as her suitcase, her typewriter and camera.

Housed at the Heksherim Research Institute for Jewish and Israeli Literature & Culture (Ben-Gurion University at the Negev), these growing archives already include the works of internationally renowned authors such as Amos Oz, Aharon Appelfeld, Yehuda Amichai, Ruth Almog, David Avidan, Yocheved Bat-Miriam, David Schutz and Nissim Aloni.

Comprised of works from the earliest days of Statehood in 1948 up to the present, the Irwin T. Holtzman Israeli Literature collection features manuscripts of poetry and drama; posters advertising literary events; political cartoons and other original artwork; and Irwin Holtzman's extensive correspondence with many important Israeli literary figures, including Amos Oz, A.B. Yehoshua, Amalia Kahana-Carmon, and Yoram Kaniuk. It also includes published articles and essays, manuscripts, typescripts, bibliographies of Holtzman's extensive collection of Israeli literature, and other materials.

16,282 catalog results (accessed in April 2021)

Established in 2004, this is the only research collection of Hebrew popular literature. The collection encompasses almost two thousand rare books and serialized booklets, from the pre-State period (1928) to present day, representing a wide range of genres—from Westerns (some take place in Arizona) to detective stories, crime novels, science fiction, and children's books.

Correspondence, manuscripts, journals, photographs, audio-visual material, printed material, and personal papers documenting the life and work of Israeli poet Yehuda Amichai (1924-2000).