This is the "Home" page of the "Judaica" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
MLibrary Home | Mirlyn Search Tools MGet It | Ask a Librarian
University of Michigan

Judaica   Tags: best_bet, hebrew, humanities, jewish, judaic_studies, judaism, yiddish  

Provides a list of electronic and print resources supported by the University of Michigan Library's Judaica Unit.
Last Updated: Apr 10, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.umich.edu/Judaica Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Judaica Resources

About the Judaica Collection at the University of Michigan Library
          Hebrew and Yiddish Serials Held by the Graduate Library

Portrait Of A People: The Jewish Heritage Collection Dedicated To Mark And Dave Harris
(An Exhibit Curated By Peggy E. Daub, Elliot H. Gertel, & Erica T. Lehrer April 11—August 19, 2005 University Of Michigan Library)

Hebrew Date Converter


Index to Hebrew Periodicals - WWW version (MALMAD - Israel Center for Digital Information Services)
(Hebrew version)

RAMBI: The Index of Articles on Jewish Studies (The Jewish National and University Library)
          (The retrospective conversion of the JNUL's "Index of Articles on Jewish Studies" (RAMBI) 1966-1984 volumes has been completed. 01/22/01)

iryat sefer rivʻon le-bibliografyah shel bet ha-sefarim ha-leʾumi ṿeha-Universitaʾi bi-Yerushalayim (online 2003-)

Encyclopaedia Judaica 2nd ed. Online (Provides an exhaustive and organized overview of Jewish life and knowledge from the Second Temple period to the contemporary State of Israel, from Rabbinic to modern Yiddish literature, from Kabbalah to "Americana" and from Zionism to the contribution of Jews to world cultures, Encyclopaedia Judaica, 2nd edition is important to scholars, general readers and students.) If this link is obsolete, refer to: http://mirlyn.lib.umich.edu:80/F/?func=direct&doc_number=005224935&local_base=AA_PUB

Judaica Electronic Texts (University of Pennsylvania Center for Advanced Judaic Studies Library)

Global Jewish Database, Judaic Responsa, Bar Ilan University Responsa (Contains numerous works from the Jewish Responsa literature - rabbinic case-law rulings which represent the historical-sociological milieu of real-life situations. In addition, the database includes the Bible, the Talmud,and their principal commentaries; works about Jewish law and customs; major codes of Jewish law, such as Maimonides' Mishneh Torah and the Shulchan Aruch with its principal commentaries; midrashim, Zohar, etc. Jewish knowledge, law, and lore across thousands of years is encompassed. Also includes the Entsiklopedyah Talmudit [Talmudic Encyclopedia].)

Central and Eastern European Online Library ( An online archive which provides access to full text articles from 184 humanities and social science journals pertaining to Central, Eastern and South-Eastern European topics.)

Universitätsbiblithek Frankfurt am Main Jiddische Drucke (Frankfurt University Library Yiddish Prints: The Collection "Yiddish Prints" contains about 800 very valuable Yiddish books that belong to the Frankfurt University Library. The texts were printed in Hebrew letters in West, Central and East Europe. The dates range from the middle of the 16th century to the beginning of the 20th century.)

CJH Digital Collections (Center for Jewish History Digital Collections)

Rabbinic Literature Wiki (Hebrew Union College-Jewish Institute of Religion Library)

Yizkor (Holocaust Memorial) Books ( New York Public Library's Digital Yizkor Book Viewer)

Hebrewbooks.org (11,000 Classical Hebrew Books for Free Download -- Hebrewbooks.org was founded in order to preserve old American Hebrew books that are out of print and/or circulation.)

Historic Hebrew Newspapers (Open access to images of the major titles of the early Hebrew press (19th and early 20th century))
Historic Jewish Press Full Text Search

Jewish National & University Library, Jerusalem - NNL The Hebrew University of Jerusalem
   JNUL Main Page
   JNUL Digitized Book Repository
   Digitized Manuscripts from the Collection of the National Library and other Collections

New JNUL Online Catalog (Hebrew); English

ULI - The Israel Union List (Latin, Hebrew, Arabic, and Cyrillic scripts. The Israel Union Catalog (ULI) contains over 5 million bibliographic records in the catalogs of the Israeli university and college libraries, as well as selected research institute and government libraries.)
     MALMAD - Israel Center for Digital Information Services

Yizkor Books Online (The New York Public Library's Digital Yizkor Book Viewer)

On-line Lexicon of Modern Hebrew Literature (לקסיקון ביו-ביבליוגראפי של הספרות העברית החדשה - Edited by Yossi Galron-Goldschlager)

The Hadassah-Brandeis Institute Working Papers: “Medieval Jewish Women in History, Literature, Law and Art: A Bibliography” (MS Word Doc -- Compiled and Annotated by Cheryl Tallan, June 2000/Update 2006)

Milon Morfiks (Online Hebrew-English, English-Hebrew Dictionary -- מילון עברי-אנגלי אנגלי-עברי מקוון)

Friedberg Cairo Genizah Project

Jews in America (Center for Jewish History)

Academic Guide to Jewish History (Major print and internet scholarly resources)

Survivors of the Shoah Visual History Foundation (Main Page)

Shoah Foundation's Visual History Archive (University of Michigan Library)

Yad Vashem : The Holocaust Martyrs' and Heroes' Remembrance Authority

Voice Vision: Holocaust Survivor Oral Histories (University of Michigan-Dearborn Mardigian Library)

Fortunoff Video Archive for Holocaust Testimonies (Yale University Library)

We Remember Shoah! Shoah - Holocaust Links

Holocaust Resources: An Annotated bibliography of archival holdings at the Center for Jewish History
        Bibliographies at the Center for Jewish History

Association for Jewish Studies

Association of Jewsh Libraries

350 Years of American Jewish history (Commission for Commemorating 350 Years of American Jewish History: The American Jewish Historical Society, The Jacob Rader Marcus Center of the American Jewish Archives, the Library of Congress, and the National Archives and Records Administration)

JewishEncyclopedia.com (contains the complete contents of the 12-volume Jewish Encyclopedia, which was originally published between 1901-1906 -- may be slow to respond)

Online Treasury of Talmudic Manuscripts - אודות כתבי היד (Jewish National and University Library, David and Fela Shapell Family Digitization Project, and the Hebrew University Department of Talmud)

National Yiddish Book Center (10,000 Yiddish Titles, On Demand)

The Dinur Center for Research in Jewish History (Hebrew University of Jerusalem: Jewish History Resource Center) (Online texts, database projects, bibliographies, etc.)

A Users' Guide to Yiddish on the Internet

H-JUDAIC Network

Hebrew Bible ( תורה נביאים וכתובים בכתיב המסורה מנוקד לפי הכתר וכתבי היד הקרובים לו) (Mechon Mamre -- Bible in Hebrew: charset=Windows-1255; also in English, parallel Hebrew-English)

Aleppo Codex (Hebrew Bible Manuscript Ben-Zvi 1 -- Site under construction)

Academic Jewish Studies Internet Directory Provided by the Jewish Studies Dept., University of Duisburg, Germany

Jewish Studies Resources (Princeton University Library)

Internet Resources for Jewish Latin America and the Caribbean (Credit to Marian Goslinga of Florida International University Library)

Northwest Semitic Links (collected by Dr. Reinhard G. Lehmann Forschungsstelle für Althebräische Sprache und Epigraphik, Johannes Gutenberg University of Mainz.)

Institute of Microfilmed Hebrew Manuscripts

Hebrew Union College
    Midrash Bibiliography
    American Jewish Archives

Jewish Resources on the Internet (Shamash: The Jewish Internet Consortium)

Judaica and Hebraica Booksellers (Judaica and Hebraica Booksellers in Great Britain and Eire, world-wide and on the Internet)

British Jewish Network (The UK Jewish Internet Service)
    Judaica and Hebraica Booksellers (Great Britain and Eire, world-wide and on the Internet)

Robinson Books (Antiquarian Hebraica and Judaica; site in Hebrew or English -- slow or unresponsive link)

Davka (Davka Corporation's Home Page: The world's largest developer and distributor of Hebrew and Judaic softwarefor personal computers, PCs and Macintosh)

University of Haifa Library (The Library, excellent links to web-sites in Israel and beyond)

New York Public Library: The Jewish Division

iGuide: Israeli Internet Guide (Hebrew or English)

Global Jewish Information Network (Slow or unresponsive link)

MAVEN (The Virtual-Know-it-All: Guide to thousands of Jewish/Israel links)

Eliezer Segal's Home Page (Includes A Page from the Babylonian Talmud: a hyperlinked guide)


Links to the Southeast Michigan Jewish Community

Jewish Ann Arbor Online
Ann Arbor's Jewish Community
Ann Arbor Jewish Community Directory
Jewish Community Center of Washtenaw County
Washtenaw Jewish News
Jewish Detroit
The Jewish Community Center of Metropolitan Detroit
Detroit Jewish News Online

 

New Books

Loading Loading...
blank padding

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Elliot Gertel
 

Library Help

The current on-duty librarian for the library-wide Ask a Librarian IM service is available when you see a green dot at the top of the box.

See http://www.lib.umich.edu/ask for additional contact methods.

Contact

We welcome your feedback on our web site.

Copyright

Creative Commons

Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 license. For details and exceptions, see the Library Copyright Statement.

©2014, Regents of the University of Michigan

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip