Research Guides: Northern Renaissance Art: Books

Quick Links

Art Source with Art Index Retrospective
A comprehensive resource for art information featuring full text of over 750 periodicals and indexing back to 1929.
U-M Library Articles Search
Use Articles Search to locate scholarly and popular articles, as well as reference works and materials from open access archives.
ARTstor
Provides over 1.5 million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences.
Artstor Across Disciplines
A Research Guide developed by Artstor with helpful suggestions for finding and using images across disciplines.
Fine Arts Library
Provided is basic information about the library such as current hours, staffing, maps, and accessibility.

International Bibliography of Art This link opens in a new window
Index to scholarly literature on Western art, incorporating journal articles, monographs, essay collections, and conference proceedings.

JSTOR
Provides full-text access to the archives of core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences.
U-M Library Catalog Search
Catalog Search results will include everything in our physical collection (books, audio, video, maps, musical scores, archival materials, and more), as well as materials available online such as electronic books, streaming audio and video, and online journals.
U-M Library Search
Use Library Search to see results from the catalog, articles, databases, online journals and library website pages.

Other Research Guides

Architecture
Provides access to resources related to the study of architecture, construction, and building systems.
Art & Design
Renaissance & Baroque Architecture
Film & Video Studies
History
Images
Locating Archives and Manuscripts
Provides an overview of strategies for locating primary sources, including archival and manuscript material.
Classical Studies

Help!

Need more help? Try contacting:

Finding Books

U-M Library Catalog Search
Catalog Search results will include everything in our physical collection (books, audio, video, maps, musical scores, archival materials, and more), as well as materials available online such as electronic books, streaming audio and video, and online journals.
Library Catalog Search
If you want to specifically search for books in the Fine Arts Library go to Advanced Search. Type in what you are looking for, and in the "Limit To" section fill in the following: "Library: UM Ann Arbor Libraries" "Location: Fine Arts"
WorldCat
Alternative Titles
World Cat, OCLC Online Union Catalog (OLUC)
RLG Union Catalog, Research Libraries Group, RLIN, Research Libraries Information Network
Description

Combined catalog describing over 360 million books, periodicals, sound recordings, videos, musical scores, archival materials, maps, electronic resources, and much more, in 470 different languages. Shows what materials are held by over 25,000 libraries worldwide (including most libraries in North America, 40 national libraries, and selected libraries from 170 countries worldwide).

Library of Congress Classifications

A great way to find books is to visit the Fine Arts Library and browse the stacks. To look for books related to a specific subject area you may want to look for a certain Library of Congress Classification. A few broad classifications can be found below.

Call numbers that begin with these letters signify books that are related to these art topics:

N - Visual Art in General

NA - Architecture

NB - Sculpture

NC - Drawing

ND - Painting

NE - Graphic Arts

NK - Decorative Arts

NX - Art Theory

The following classifications may also be of interest:

GT - Costume

SB - Landscape Architecture and Gardening

TR - Photography

For more help understanding Library of Congress Classifications visit the LC Call Numbers Research Guide.

Interlibary Loan

If you are unable to find the book you need on Library Catalog Search try requesting it through Interlibrary Loan. Interlibrary Loan obtains items that are not available at the University of Michigan Library for the study and research of the University's patrons, including: books, dissertations, and microforms, copies of periodical articles or short sections of books.

General Art History Books

The following books are general art history titles. They are a good starting point for research and general reference.

Benezit Dictionary of Artists
Fine Arts Reference Section N 40 .B4653 2006
An extensive publication of bibliographical information on painters, sculptors, designers and engravers created primarily for art museums, auction houses, historians and dealers.
Oxford Dictionary of Art
Fine Arts Reference Section N 33 .O931 2004
Primarily deals with Western and Western inspired sculpture, printmaking, and drawing from ancient times to the present day. Provides biographical entries on artists, patrons, and collectors. Also covers styles, movements, techniques, museums, and schools.

eBooks

Finding and Using Electronic Books (eBooks)
Visit this guide if you are interested in accessing ebooks.

Last Updated: Dec 6, 2024 1:11 PM

Tags: northern, painting, renaissance, sculpture