Northern Renaissance Art

A comprehensive resource for art information featuring full text of over 750 periodicals and indexing back to 1929.

Use Articles Search to locate scholarly and popular articles, as well as reference works and materials from open access archives.

Now part of JStor, provides over 1.5 million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences.

Now part of JStor, a Research Guide developed by Artstor with helpful suggestions for finding and using images across disciplines.

Provided is basic information about the library such as current hours, staffing, maps, and accessibility.

Provides full-text access to the archives of core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences.

Catalog Search results will include everything in our physical collection (books, audio, video, maps, musical scores, archival materials, and more), as well as materials available online such as electronic books, streaming audio and video, and online journals.

Use Library Search to see results from the catalog, articles, databases, online journals and library website pages.

Provides access to resources related to the study of architecture, construction, and building systems.

Provides an overview of strategies for locating primary sources, including archival and manuscript material.

Provides subject and iconographic access to over 200,000 photographic reproductions of Christian art in the east and west from early apostolic times up to A.D. 1400. Includes bibliographies for all works of art covered.

The International Medieval Bibliography was founded in 1967 with the support of the Medieval Academy of America, with the aim of providing a comprehensive, current bibliography of articles in journals and miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, essay collections or Festschriften) worldwide. Its editorial staff is based at the Institute for Medieval Studies at the University of Leeds, and the project is supported by over 50 teams of contributors in Europe, North America, Australia and Japan.

Includes index to citations from more than 1,600 scholarly journals in all areas of Medieval and Renaissance studies (400-1700). Also included are: Iter Italicum, Renaissance Quarterly Online, Early Theatre, REED Newsletter, Renaissance and Reformation and the International Directory of Scholars.

Published by the International Center of Medieval Art

Published by the University of Chicago Press

Published by the Mediaeval Academy of America

Fine Arts Reference Section N 7825 .A64 1998
Provides encyclopedic information on Christian terms, symbols, and saints. Includes entries for select Christian artists and theologians who had significant impact on Christian art. This is a very helpful tool for analysis of Christian art.

Fine Arts Reference Section BR95 .M58
Guide to the essentials of Christian tradition in the arts, music, and literature.

Fine Arts Reference Section N7830 .S333
Concerned with pictorial themes, such as the nativity, transfiguration of Christ, and massacre of the innocents. Provides extensive analysis of themes' origin, development, symbolism, and in some cases illustrations.