Japanese Studies

How to find resource in Modern Japanese literature studies. By Professor Yoshitaka Hibi of Nagoya University.

Tohoku Earthquake and Tsunami, Japan, 2011, and Fukushima Nuclear Disaster, Japan, 2011 in all formats including films, books and map-atlas.

List may help you to find comics of particular topics, genre, region, etc. Find if U-M holds the title. Please contact Librarian to purchase if not.

Check also list of literature.

LinguaHiroshima - A multilingual bibliography on Hiroshima and Nagasaki

Michiko Ito, Japanese Studies Librarian at the University of Kansas.

Wash your hands with soap, take out rings, accessories, no pen in pockets, No talk over the materials. Watch the video before you handle scrolls and other special collection.

Late Heian/early medieval - warriors, court, literature, violence, religion.

Early medieval/Kamakura - warriors, bakufu, land, law, inheritance, society, women

Early medieval - warriors, land tenure, “feudalism”

Early medieval/Kamakura - Buddhism, religion, state

Early medieval/Kamakura - women, society, court, religion

Early medieval/Kamakura - women, society, court, religion

Early medieval/Kamakura - women, society, court, religion

Early/mid-medieval - society, history, literature, memoir, court

Mid-medieval - Buddhism, religion, society

Medieval/Kamakura - warriors, war, society, international relations, pictorial narratives, law

Mid-medieval - religion, Zen, Buddhism, society

Mid-medieval - theater, performance, society, religion

Medieval - numerous collections for this, religious or secular, supernatural or realistic- Konjaku monogatari. literature, commoners, women, religion, society.

Medieval - literature, commoners, women, religion, society

Mid-medieval - warriors, war, society, military tales.

Mid-medieval - warriors, war, society, military tales.

Late medieval - warriors, war, capital, military tales.

Late medieval - warriors, war, military tales, society

Late medieval/Sengoku - religion, Christianity, society, international relations

Late medieval/Sengoku - religion, Christianity, society, international relations

Late medieval/Sengoku - religion, Christianity, society, international relations

Late medieval/Sengoku - religion, Christianity, society, international relations

Late medieval/Sengoku - war, international relations, diplomacy, society

Ask at the Asia Library for classroom use.

A shell-matching game popular among aristocrats of the Heian period (794−1185).

Book format.

Motion picture

Real scroll

Please contact the "Visual Resources Collections, Department of the History of Art" vrum@umich.edu

National Diet Library of Japan is collecting "digital resources on Japanese Culture from all over the world."

Need to register and search.

"Kuroji no e" included in Vol.37 of "Matsumoto Seicho zenshu"　「松本清張全集」

"Hishoku" included in Vol.8 in "Ariyoshi Sawako senshu"　「有吉佐和子選集」

included in Vol. 2 in "Itsuki Hiroyuki shoetsu zenshu" 「五木寛之小説全集」

村上龍自選小説集１巻

Japanese women and African-American men in Okinawa military base.

It refers African-Americans in Japanese literature with a good bibliography.
金城学院大学論集. 社会科学編 7(2), 80-94, 2011 金城学院大学

Documents the stories of five people of mixed race--Japanese-Australian, Japanese-Ghanan, Japanese-Korean, Japanese-Mexican and Japanese-Venezuelan-- living in Japan by By Megumi Nishikura & Lara Pérez Takagi.

Africa in Tezuka Osamu works. 手塚治虫「鉄腕アトム」vol.1

Film: multi-racial experiences in Japan.

Electronic texts compiled by University of Wisconsin-Madison Libraries except 5.

Scroll down. List compiled by the National Diet Library, Japan.

Amherst College Archives & Special Collection

National Diet Library of Japan Digital Archives

the Hoover Institution Library & Archives

Ohara Institute of Social Research Hosei University

Historical books in ancient era. Searchable both in English and Japanese. Depending on the texts ID/PW required. Contact the website owner.

"Kojiki"

Translation of "Nihon shoki"

Microfilm version at the Tokyo Metropolitan Library 貞享２年（1685）

Reprint of the original - Painter unknown　明和3 (1766 )

竒妙圖彙(外題) 山東菴京傳[山東京伝][作・画] 享和3 (1803) HathiTrust Digital Library - original at the Keio University.

明治１７年(1884) Re-pulished of "Kimyo zui" with addition published in 1803. 序文にある「享保年間」は「享和」の誤り。

香川大学図書館神原文庫所蔵　園果亭義栗狂画,潜龍溪 [ほか], 貞享2 [1685] Contact Kagawa University Library.

「江戸時代庶民文庫 : 「江戸庶民」の生活を知る」vol.8