Japanese Studies
Selected information resources on Japanese Studies at University of Michigan.
Japanese Media materials at Askwith Media Library in the Shapiro Library Room 2002
-
Search titles and show the h-number at the Askwith Media Library desk.
|
|
Example VIDEO-D 37456-D - h 4316 |
-
"Askiwith Media Library Offsite Shelving -- please allow 3 days for delivery" Email to request titles with URL at askwithmedia@umich.edu
-
Japanese DVD and BluRay needs All Region player. It is available at the Askwith Media Library.
-
Following media list is not complete. Search by director (author search), title search, or ask librarians to find media materials.
-
Feature films, JapaneseUse LEFT SIDE sort categories to find DVD, BluRay, or journals and books.
-
List of films 映画の一覧This Wiki includes a list of Japanese films, etc. Check U-M holding in the U-M Library Search. Contact the librarian for film purchase.
-
Kanopy Streaming Video U-M onlyChoose Japanese under "Language" category.
-
Academic Video Online U-M onlyFeature films are lmited.
-
日本戦争映画総覧 (book)List of Japanese war motion pictures.
Online Film / Documentary Resources
-
Movie Walker All Movie Databaseムービーウォーカー・キネマ旬報全映画作品データベース
-
National Film Archive of Japan 国立映画アーカイブ（旧国立近代美術館フィルムセンター）
-
Japanese Cinema Database日本映画情報システム（by文化庁）
-
Japanese Movie Database日本映画データベース
-
Yamagata International Documentary Film Festival山形国際ドキュメンタリー映画祭
-
311 Documentary Film Archive Yamagata International Documentary Festivalcollects, catalogs, preserves and provides access to documentary films and related materials about the Great East Japan Earthquake of March 11, 2011.
-
Kurosawa Akira Digital Archive黒澤明デジタルアーカイブ（龍谷大学・黒澤プロダクション）
-
Japanese Film Database 日本映画データベースJapanese Film database by the Japan Foundation
-
NIchiei archives 日映アーカイブDatabase of News films in Showa period, cultural educational films, and the propaganda films during the war time
-
Shochiku film database 松竹・映画作品データベースDatabase of information of the films produced by Shochiku campany.
-
記録映画保存センターDocumentary films databases are listed on the homepage.
-
NFAJ Digital GalleryImage collections at the National Film Archive of Japan (NFAJ).
-
Prewar Japanese Film Periodicals in the B-CollectionLibrary of Congress
-
日映アーカイブ検索「日本映画社」「日本映画新社」のアーカイブ検索：戦時中の国策映画、文化教育映画、戦後の産業映画などの短編作品約400タイトル、ニュース映画約5,500項目（映画利用は有料）
-
映連データベース ・映画産業統計日本映画制作者連盟 Motion Picture Producers Association of Japan, Inc.
-
東映太秦映画村・映画図書室Toei Kyoto Studio Park Library
-
Comperative Japanese Film Film ArchiveList of silent films with "Benshi" (narrator) in early 1900's in Japan (some digital films with Benshi narration). Hamilton College.
-
Ushiyama Junichi Library 牛山純一ライブラリーList of the documentary media collected by Mr. Jun'ichi Ushiyama at the Ryugasaki Public Library, Ibaraki, Japan.
-
山本明コレクションInstitute for Research in Humanities, Kyoto University. 人文学報, 116 号, 2021.
-
帝キネ - 帝国キネマ演芸株式会社Established in May, 1920, in Osaka, Japan. Company reports full-texts.
-
皇室紹介ビデオ Imperial family videosJapanese government Internet TV
-
メディア芸術データベースHolding information of media materials in Japan. The content is merging to the Japan Search.
-
Neo neo (journal)documentary culture magazine.
-
cinefil シネフィル 映画とカルチャーfilm & culture online magazine © 2015 Cinefil & Revolver.Inc
-
Japanese Film Resources Online 映画資料所在地情報検索システム(JFROL)Search holding information of Non-film materials such as posters, pamphlets, screenplays related to motion pictures.
-
プラネット映画資料図書館 Visit use onlyCollects motion picture related materials - magazines, books, posters, pamphlets, etc.
-
Science Film Museum NPOOnline short films
-
Library of Congress holdings of Japanese live action fiction (narrative) films produced from the 1920s to the end of World War IIThe list also includes films made in Korea and China under Japanese rule. For the use: contact https://ask.loc.gov/film-tv-video/
-
NHK Archives databaseNews, documentary, interviews.
TV culture
-
TV cultureスカバーＪＳＡＴhomepage
-
TV drama database テレビドラマデータベースincludes TV dramas from 1940 (the first drama was 夕餉前 on April 13, 1940).
-
NIPPON TV NETWORKarchive information
-
NHK Video BankFee for the use of footage for individuals not by library subscription - "the premium videos of the prestigious Japanese public broadcaster, NHK, featuring millions of precious historical, news, documentary and other creative content items."
-
TV Radio Rsearch NaviNational Diet Library
-
NHK クロニクルSearch past programs broadcased in TV and Radio．
-
NHK ArchivesChoose 素材 from the TOP list. Download for the individual use. Broadcasted in NHK TV.
Animation
-
AnimememorialEncyclopedia of Japanese animation by Animememorial.
-
AnimeDataBase アニメ大全covers mostly commercial animation works since 1917.
-
Japanese Animated Film ClassicsFull-view of Japanese classic animation held at the National Film Center, Tokyo, Japan.
-
STUDIO GHIBLI Images - open accessスタジオジブリ作品の場面写真
-
海ノ民話のまちプロジェクトWatch animations
Print Reference Works
Title: Research guide to Japanese film studies.
Contributor: NORNES, Markus, and GEROW, Aaron Andrew.
Published: Ann Arbor : Center for Japanese Studies, The University of Michigan, 2009.
Description: viii, 197 p. ; 23 cm.
Notes: Collections -- Distributors -- Used book and video stores -- Annotated bibliography for bibliographic studies. Bunken-shi/bibliographic studies -- Articles on the history of film criticism -- Anthologies of film criticism and køza -- Indexes and bibliographies -- Film yearbooks and almanacs -- Encyclopedias and dictionaries -- Filmographies -- Biographical dictionaries -- Chronologies -- Script collections and collected works of directors -- Censorship -- Photos, posters, programs -- Film periodicals -- General histories -- Guides to archives -- Local histories -- Studio and production company histories -- Online and digital resources. General databases -- Discs -- Websites.
Subjects: Motion pictures -- Japan; Motion picture industry -- Japan; Film archives -- Directories; Motion picture film collections -- Directories; Motion pictures -- Japan -- Bibliography. Call number: PN1993.5.J3 N67 2009
Last Updated: Nov 25, 2025 1:59 PM
Subjects: International Studies