Japanese Studies
Selected information resources on Japanese Studies at University of Michigan.
Find and search from U-M
-
Library Catalog Searchincluding E-books, Hathi Trust collection.
-
WebCat plusFind title in Multivolume Sets, books in your interests, etc. Open Access.
-
Bookplus (U-M login)"Japanese Books in Print", which covers 1.6 million titles from 1927 onwards.
-
青空文庫 Aozora bunkoOpen access literature texts whose Japanese copy-right expired.
-
Aozora Bunko Textual OpticsWord level search in texts. University of Chicago.
-
Aozora HumanitextSearch texts in Aozora bunko using AI conversation tool. (Open trial may end soon.)
-
Digital Library at the National Diet Librarytext level search about 336,000 materials published before 1945 from National Diet Library Digital Collections, which is public domain. Image search available.
-
Next Digital Library - full text searchNational Diet Library
-
大日本史料総合DB 東京大学史料編纂所includes databases such as: 古記録フルテキスト・古文書フルテキスト・平安遺文・鎌倉遺文フルテキスト・大日本史料総合DB・電子くずし字字典, 他多数
-
教科書・デジタル教科書 Japanese school textbooksTokyo Gakugei University Library
-
Japan Knowledge (U-M ID required)Check 「本棚」in e-book collection inside this database.
-
List of Japanese texts and CorpusFrom Mr. Goto homepage [テキスト処理とコーパス言語学] 東北大学大学院文学研究科言語学研究室
-
Humanities Search J-3.0Full-texts search in Humanities websites in Japan -- created by Professor Nagasaki 永崎研宣＠人文情報学研究所
-
WorldCatSearch titles in multi-volume sets, holdings in the US libraries (some overseas libraries included) for Interlibrary loan.
-
The European LibrarySearch holdings at European libraries.
-
Internet ArchivesOpen access digital resource in many forms - books, manuscripts, TV programs, websites,etc in Japan as well.
-
Find resource in Modern / Cotemporary Literature 近現代文学研究関連の情報収集by Professor Yoshitaka Hibi, Nagoya University.
-
文献の集め方 following the Resource of Modern / Contemporary Japanese listeratureby Professor Yoshitaka Hibi, Nagoya University.
-
Chirimen Crepe Books Database ちりめん本データベースInternatonal Research Center for Japanese Studies
-
まんが日本昔ばなしデータベースDatabase of Japanese folk tales : Inada collection
-
Japanese Culture Through Rare Books (Webiner)Professor Takahiro Sasaki, Keio University. Need to register at Future Learn. Free trail for three weeks.
-
群書類従 （正・続・続々）U-M onlyJapan Knowledge database full-text
-
群書類従正続分類総目録Index search - 続群書類従完成会 [編]『群書類従正続分類総目録』,続群書類従完成会,昭和4. 国立国会図書館デジタルコレクション
Find monograph resources
-
Osaka Prefectural Library search 大阪府立図書館includes the content of books.
-
Tokyo Metropolitan Public Library search 東京都立図書館includes the content of books.
-
古書 Kosho database 日本の古本屋Antiquarian materials in Japanese market.
-
Pub DB 出版書誌データベース「Pub DB」の収録データは「出版書誌データベース」 に [1915年以降] 蓄積した約230万点。各出版社（者）から提供された国内で発行された紙の書籍・電子書籍の情報を収録。
-
honto -- books in print searchIt provides content information with page numbers.
-
NDL (National Diet Library 国会図書館) Searchincluding collections ( + dissertations) of NDL, major public libraries, archives, museums, etc.
-
リサーチナビfind resources by subjects and geographic areas (the National Diet Library, Japan)
-
Cinii book searchClick 大学図書館の本を探す to search and borrow books from Japanese university libraries. Some ILL available. Direct contact (http://ci.nii.ac.jp/books/?l=ja)
-
Bookplus (U-M only)明治期から現在までの国内の図書情報を検索
-
Translation works -- 日本文学翻訳作品データベースSearch Japanese literature translated into other languages.
-
Japanese Translation of foreign literature 翻訳された外国文学の探し方獨協大学図書館作成 Dokkyo University Library
-
アジア歴史資料センター Japan Center for Asian Historical Records (JCAR)Public documents archives.
-
Introduction to Premodern Japanese Books for Art Historical ResearchRecording of the seminar. (provided by the European Association of Library Resource Specialists - EAJRS)
-
Handbook for Asia studies specilistsa guide to research materials and collection building tools
-
和書のさまざまDescribing the materiality of Japanese antiquarian books. National Institute of Japanese Literature.
-
Japanese Culture Through Rare Books (Webiner)Professor Takahiro Sasaki, Keio University. Need to register at Future Learn.
-
History of Washo (3) BibliographyProfessor Takahiro Sasaki - Keiō University
-
An introduction to the history of pre-Meiji publishing : history of wood-block printing in Japan / by Kazuma Kawase ; [translated and annotated by Yukihisa Suzuki and May T. Suzuki].Summary translation from "Shoshigaku nyūmon / Kawase Kazuma cho ; Okazaki Hisaji hen.書誌学入門 / 川瀬一馬著 ; 岡崎久司編"
-
Nunokawa Bunko 布川文庫Archives related to publishing in Japan which was collected by Nunokawa Kakuzaemon. Citation index.布川角左衛門（1901-1996）が収集した約25,100点の出版関係コレクション
-
もんじょこむしデータbookworms found in pre-modern materials.
IIL and Document Delivery- when you don't find either at UM or open access books
Steps to follow if you don't find the books you need at the U-M Library.
1. Search open access at National Diet Library digital books or National Institute of Japanese Literature.
2. For ILL search the WorldCat to see if other libraries in North America have. From the cataloging record of the WorldCat you can send ILL request.
Include OCLC # of the book that you request for faster, accurate service.
| External Resources: |
Last Updated: Nov 25, 2025 1:59 PM
Subjects: International Studies