Japanese Studies
Find Japanese language articles / Not many full-text available in Japan
-
CiNii ResearchCitation index and some full-texts ( including academic articles published in academic society journals, university research bulletins, and professional journals.
-
J-GLOBALStrong in Science, Technology, Engineering, Medical researches, but search well in social science and humanities academic journals published in Japan.
-
J-STAGE Japan Science and Technology Information Aggregator, ElectornicCiNii (below) merged in J-Stage. Citation index and some full-texts ( including academic articles published in academic society journals, university research bulletins, and professional journals.
-
Pre-peer review articlel search - JxivSearch pre-peer review articles in Japan. J-Stage at the National Institute of Informatics, Japan. Jxiv (ジェイカイブ)
-
Koseisha index - Zasshi kiji sakuin shūsei dētabēsu (U-M login)Citation index from 1868 to present including academic and popular magazine articles.
-
Magazineplus (U-M login)Overlaps with Cinii & Koseisha database, and includes MORE such as Indexes 14,000 periodicals published in Japan after World War II, conference papers, and books published by research organizations, 1945-1992; and annuals, research reports and books published by scholarly associations, 1945-1995.
-
Web-Oya Bunko database (U-M login)Citation index of popular magazines published since 1988 and held by Oya Soichi Bunko, a private library collection that continues to be developed based on the personal library of the late journalist Oya Soichi.
-
Natonal Diet Library SearchArticles, dissertaions, books, digitalized materials.
-
明治新聞雑誌文庫所蔵検索システム東京大学大学院法学政治学研究科附属近代日本法政史料センター明治新聞雑誌文庫が所蔵するすべての新聞、雑誌、錦絵ほか資料類、コレクション
-
Research Navi at NDL楽譜 / 白書 / 日本の議会資料 / 日本の法令集 / 旧外地法令集 / 軍事関係資料 / 地方史（誌）/ 地図 / 古典籍細目 / 医療情報 / 技術動向レポート / 企業・団体名鑑索引 / 市場動向レポート / 新聞編年史 / 新聞全集 / 憲政資料細目 / 移民資料細目 / 占領期資料細目
-
Find resources by topics and formatNational Diet Library Research navigation. Find major resource by subjects, topics, and formats.
-
Document-WANOpen access women's journals (Japanese language) published by women's groups n Japan.PDF archives.
English journals in Japanese/Asian Studies
-
Studies in Japanese Literature and CultureJournal by National Institute of Japanese Literature.
-
Nikkei Asia (UM longin)Business English news covering Asia including Japan
-
OpenAIRE / ExploreOpen Access resources funded by European Union. Not specific on Japan, and try keyword search. Includes data, projects, organizations.
IIL and Document Delivery- when you don't find either at U-M or open access articles
Steps to follow if you don't find the journals which include the articles you need at the U-M Library.
1. Try Google Scholar to see if any PDF files would be available online.
2. Search the WorldCat to see if other libraries in North America or in Japan have. Make sure the holding information by checking the institution library homepage. They may have other volumes, but not the volume which you need.
3. Request from the title catalog by clicking "request via Inter-Library Loan". Include OCLC # of the journal for faster, accurate delivery.
| External Resources: |
4. IF you don't see the journal in the WorldCat, search in the National Diet Library in Japan. Include the URL of the journal citation page in the Note section of the ILL form.
5. Contact the Japanese Studies Librarian should you have questions.