Skip to main content
Library Research Guides

Japanese Studies

Selected information resources on Japanese Studies at University of Michigan

Collection policy

The Japanese studies collection is a Japanese language collection that supports research and education related to Japan in the humanities and social sciences.  All areas in which teaching and research take place at the University of Michigan are well represented. 

The collection’s strengths include religion, medieval, pre-modern, and modern history, classic and modern literature, statistical data, political science, and film studies. In recent years we have increased our holdings of materials in contemporary Japan; contemporary literature, US-Japan relations, popular culture, performing arts, and screen art and cultures.

Our collection is one of the largest Japanese academic collections outside of Japan.  It consists of approximately 349,680 volumes including E-books and 25 digital resources.  Nearly 3,500 Japan-related media materials are housed in the Askwith Media Library.  (as of June 30, 2018)

We will continue to emphasize the acquisition of materials in traditional formats while continuing to acquire media materials and electronic resources and establish access to databases related to Japan in the spirit of Japanese Studies at Michigan, “Japan in the world, the world in Japan”*.

 

* Japan in the world, the world in Japan : fifty years of Japanese studies at Michigan / edited by the Center for Japanese Studies, the University of Michigan.  Ann Arbor : Center for Japanese Studies, The University of Michigan, c2001.

Travel Support for research at Asia Library

Asia Library Travel Grant -- the Center for Japanese Studies offers grants to help defray the costs of travel, lodging, meals, and photo duplication for Japanese studies scholars at other institutions who wish to utilize the collection at the University of Michigan Asia Library.  For details.

Related Research Awards

Alfred Rodman Hussey papers

Alfred Rodman Hussey (1902-1964) collected from his works with the Government Section, Supreme Commander for the Allied Powers, during the Allied occupation of Japan following World War II and later in the Central Intelligence Agency. The most significant historical documents from this collection are the memos and the drafts of the Japanese Constitution.

Collection scope: “Collection contains: correspondence, memoranda, orders, reports, official and unofficial policy papers, draft legislation, drafts of writings, clippings, and printed matter relating to Hussey's work with the Government Section, Supreme Commander for the Allied Powers, during the Allied occupation of Japan following World War II and to the efforts of the Allies to reorganize Japanese government and society; personal papers and correspondence of Hussey relating to his interests in civil rights and in the Central Intelligence Agency, as well as his various writings; oversize maps and charts; and audiocassette and magnetic tapes.”  Original are held at the Special Collection. Microfilm set is available at the Asia Library.

Related resource:

Alfred Hussey collection : Japan's constitution slides / Committee for the Popularization of the Constitution (Kenpō Fukyū Kai)

Alfred Hussey collection : Japan's constitution photo album / Society for the Popularization of the Constitution

Materials on the Allied Occupation of Japan at the National Diet Library of Japan including the Constitution files by Alfred Rodman Hussey.

Materials on Educational Reform under occupation 

Finding aid:

The Gordon W. Prange Collection [microfilm]

The Gordon W. Prange Collection During the early years of the Occupation of Japan, 1945-1949, subjected to censorship by the Allied Forces, these materials bear censorship markings ranging from check-in and examination dates to deletions, suppression and other changes. The Collection was named for the late Gordon W. Prange, who was instrumental in bringing the materials to the University of Maryland. See the videorecording below for an introduction to the collection.

Loication of the resource and facility

The Prange microfilms and microfiche are held in the cabinets in the basement of the Shapiro Undergraduate Library.  Find the item number of the resources by the following finding aids. Microfilms and microfiche can be used in the Hatcher Graduate Library 2nd floor, Serials and Microforms - 203 N. Hatcher Library.

Japanse Military maps - Gaihozu 外邦図

Gaihozu 外邦図 - maps of the area where Rikugun (Imperial Army) of Japan Empire investigated and produced during the era from 1868 to 1945.  The Clark Map Library holds more than 10,000 maps transferred from the Army Map Service (AMS) in addition to the maps from private collectors, such as Dr. Robert Hall who was the first director of the Center for Japanese Studies. Michigan holds the maps which are rare in Japan, such as a full set of maps of Ryojun 旅順 produced on the occasion of the Russo-Japan War. For details, please contact the Clark Library.   (the Clark Library also holds numerous German maps transferred from AMS.)

List of US institutions which received Japanese military maps from the Army Map Service. (US government document)

 

Digital Gaihozu map archives

Tohoku University Library Gaihozu digital archives

Stanford University Libraries Gaihozu: Japanese Imperial Maps

Library of Congress : Early Japanese Imperial Maps of China and korea: A database

 

Articles

"Secret Japanese Military Maps could open a new window on Asia's past" - National Geographic blog  (Japanese language version)

"Japanese Imperial Maps as soucces for East Asian History: the Past and futuer of the GaihozuCross-Currents E-Jounal (No.2)

外邦図研究ニュースレター  Gaihozu kenkyu project University of Osaka

Anderson, John M. "Forgotten Battles, Forgotten maps: resources for reconstructing historical topographical intelligence sing Army Map Service materials." Historical Geography 29 (2001): 79-91 (open access)

Shannon McCune, "Maps of Korea", The Far Eastern Quartterly, Vol.5, No.3 (May, 1946), pp. 326-329 (open access)

Fedman, David A. "Japanese colonical cartography: maps, mapmakiung, and the land survey in colonial Korea", The Asia-Pacific Journal, Vol. 10, Issue 52, N.4. (open access)

 

Major research books

「外邦図ー帝国日本のアジア地図」 小林茂

「近代日本の海外地理情報収集と初期外邦図」小林茂 

「近代日本の地図作製とアジア太平洋地域ー’外邦図へのアプローチ’」 小林茂編

「陸地測量部沿革誌」小林茂解説

[外邦測量沿革史 : 草稿 / 參謀本部北支那方面軍司令部」  「草稿 解説」 includes bibiliography of major resource

日本に於ける地図測量の発達に関する研究 高木菊三郎

 

Presentations about Gaihozu held in Japan and at Michigan

Shigeru Kobayashi, "Collections of Gaihozu in Japan and in the United States", Slide, 2016

Ryohei Sekine, "Gaihozu maps owned by universities in Japan", Abstract (Japanese), 2015

Kenta Yamamoto, "Establishment and the future of the Gaihozu Digital Archive in Japan",  Abstract (Japanese), 2015.

 

Related resource

Historical atlas of northeast Asia, 1590 - 2010 korea, Manchuria, Mongolia, Eastern Siveria

The history of cartography - Vol.two Part two Cartography in Korea, Japan, Vietnam  (open access book)

University of Chicago Gaihozu map collection

Asia Maps Digital Collection - Boston University Center for the Study of Asia   Check under Japanese maps. These map databases would include Gaihozu as well.

National Diet Library - how to reseach Gaihozu collection at the NDL

The Central Intelligence Agency Cartography Center Collection

List of Map collection - University of Texas Libraries at Austin

 

Army Intensive Japanese Language School (AIJLS)