Japanese Studies

This guide helps everyone.

Find resources to answer your research methods and statistics questions. Sage Research Methods.

Cornell University Library Evidence Synthesis Service

From the "Undergraduate Library Reference Collection Resources Research Guide"

David Carter, Video Game Archivist & Reference Librarian. superman@umich.edu

Philip Hallman, Film Studies Field Librarian. phallman@umich.edu

Jason Imbesi, Librarian for Music, Theatre and Dance. imbesij@umich.edu

Catherine Morse, Government Information, Law and Political Science Librarian. cmorse@umich.edu

Jungwon Yang, International Government Information and Public Policy Librarian. yangjw@umich.edu

English and German, with summaries in English.

Essential works from Ancient to Modern times in Japanese Studies

Compiled by Michael Watson, Faculty of International Studies, Meiji Gakuin University

Searchable database that compiles all literary works translated from Japanese to English and available in the United States.

英語落語　桂三輝

offers full access to Morse's diaries, journals and correspondence on a myriad of subjects at the time. Edward S. Morse (1838-1925) was a great polymath – notable for his work in natural history, ethnography and art history.

Edwin O. Reischauer. (Classic introductory of work on Japan.)

Classic works on Japanese modern history after Meiji and contemporary Japan in 1990's.

contains records on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present.

Global collection of digital image resources on Japanese studies.

Combined access to 80+ ProQuest databases, including full text journals, historical newspapers and corporate reports, and specialized indexes for many different fields, including: Arts, Business, Engineering, Health Sciences, History, Humanities, Literature & Language, News & Current Events, Science, Social Sciences, and Dissertations & Theses.

Provides cross-search of multiple databases: Web of Science Core Collection (including Science, Social Sciences, Arts & Humanities, Book, and Conference Proceedings Citation Indexes), BIOSIS Previews, Chinese Science Citation Database, Current Contents Connect (tables of contents), Data Citation Index, MEDLINE, and Zoological Record. Also provides links (at top edge) to Journal Citation Reports, and (under "Additional Resources" at lower left) to Index to Organism Names and Science Watch.

Full text of over 600 U.S. newspapers and over 260 English language newspapers from other countries worldwide.

Provides full-text access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information, including hundreds of U.S. and foreign newspapers, legal and business publications, wire services, broadcast media transcripts, and trade/news magazines.

Provides online full-text access to many of the Springer electronic journals along with many electronic books and series.

Provides full-text access to the archives of core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences.

Provides full-text versions of scholarly journals from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies, with over 120 publishers currently participating.

Provides accessible, informative articles that provide overviews of current research in eight different academic subject areas: Geography, History, Language & Linguistics, Literature, Philosophy, Religion, Sociology, and Social & Personality Psychology.

BASE is one of the world's most voluminous search engines especially for academic open access web resources. BASE is operated by Bielefeld University Library.