Pharmacy and Pharmacology

Through the Reaxys interface, you can search Beilstein, Gmelin, & Patent Chemistry database to retrieve content & references in Chemical Substances, Measured Substance Property Data [Physical, Biochemical, Application, Spectral], & Chemical Reactions).

Cell and molecular biology news, books, tools and resources.

A virtual library of biochemistry, molecular biology and cell biology.

Main web collection of enzyme functional data. Includes nomenclature, organism, kinetics, isolation, stability, and reaction data, literature references and links to sequence databases. Related to the print Enzyme Handbook (Springer).

Databases of biological data including nucleic acid, protein sequences and macromolecular structures.

Cross-database search page that includes: PubMed, OMIM, OMIA, PubChem, Nucleotide, Protein, Genome, Structure, singlenucleotide polymorphism, UniGene, conserved protein domain databases, UniSTS, Cancer Chromosomes, Genome Project, and more.

The ExPASy (Expert Protein Analysis System) proteomics server of the Swiss Institute of Bioinformatics (SIB) is dedicated to the analysis of protein sequences and structures as well as 2-D.

Gene Gateway, originally designed as a Web companion to the popular Human Genome Landmarks poster, is a collection of guides and tutorials designed to help students and other novice users get started with some of the resources that...

Collection of free Genome Sciences images from the Department of Energy Human Genome Project.

The GPCRDB is a molecular class-specific information system that collects, combines, validates and disseminates heterogeneous data on G protein-coupled receptors (GPCRs). The database stores data on sequences, ligand binding constants and...

InterPro is a database of protein families, domains, repeats and sites in which identifiable features found in known proteins can be applied to new protein sequences. Links to many databases, listed here:

Produced by the IUPHAR Committee on Receptor Nomenclature and Database Classfication, this database is a repository of characterisation data for receptors and drugs, including detailed pharmacological, functional and pathophysiological information on G Protein-Coupled Receptors, Voltage-Gated Ion Channels, Ligand-Gated Ion Channels and Nuclear Hormone Receptors.

MAGE creators demonstrate 3-D animation of molecules; free software may be downloaded.

Martindale's "Virtual" Pharmacy, Pharmacology & Toxicology Center: scientific journals, pharmacy and clinical pharmacy, pharmacology and clinical pharmacology, toxicology, veterinary pharmacology, drug databases, associations etc.

A database of files on individual peptidases, families and clans, accessible via a set of indexes. Additional resources include 3D images, information on the biomedical or technological relevance of the peptidases, statistical data, and a chart showing...

NCBI creates public databases, conducts research in computational biology, develops software tools for analyzing genome data, and disseminates biomedical information. Includes GenBank, Entrez, Cancer Genome Database, Human Genome Database, etc.

The NTP is an interagency program whose mission is to evaluate agents of public health concern by developing and applying tools of modern toxicology and molecular biology.

This tool will take a DNA sequence and find the large, non-overlapping open reading frames using the E.coli genetic code and the sites for all Type II and commercially available Type III restriction enzymes that cut the sequence just once...

Provides a dynamically searchable database of 3 types of neuronal properties: voltage gated conductances, neurotransmitter receptors, and neurotransmitter substances. It contains tools that provide for integration of these properties in a given type...

Interactive Web server dedicated to protein sequence analysis and available for the biologist community Different types of analysis can be carried out using NPS@, including: sequence similarity search; sites and signatures detection; primary...

PharmGKB curates information that establishes knowledge about the relationships among drugs, diseases and genes, including their variations and gene products.

Worldwide repository for the processing and distribution of 3-D biological macromolecular structure data.

PubChem provides information on the biological activities of small molecules. It is a component of NIH's Molecular Libraries Roadmap Initiative.

RTECS is a compendium of data extracted from the open scientific literature. The data are recorded in the format developed by the RTECS staff and arranged in alphabetical order by prime chemical name. Six types of toxicity data are included...

Recommended websites from Science Signaling. Includes bioinformatics resources, educator sites, labs and people, model organisms, modeling tools, protein databases, technical information, and web broadcasts.

An extensive collection of statistics related to health & health care. For some pharmacy-specific resources, see the Economics/Utilization