Research Guides: Pharmacy and Pharmacology: Databases

Finding Covid-19 Evidence

Find information on COVID-19 quickly using these resources. The Front Door searches high quality meta-analyses, literature syntheses, & clinical guidelines from multiple sources in one place.

To search in PubMed, see the links below. To find results in more resources, including preprints, see this article: Farhad Shokraneh, Rapid Response:Keeping Up with Studies on COVID-19: Systematic Search Strategies and Resources. BMJ 2020;368:m1199. You can then modify the searches to make them more focused on the precise question that you're asking.

Please note: the links below go to public PubMed, not to PubMed @ UM.

For search strategies for OVID Medline, see the link below.

COVID-19 Front Door
A single entry point to publicly available sources of the best clinical evidence about COVID-19. From the Taubman Health Sciences Library & Dept of Learning Health Sciences.
Live Results - Current Version of PubMed
Live Results - New Version of PubMed
Searches for Ovid Medline
Use the Expert Searching tab.

Article Databases

EMBASE
Premier source for pharmacy literature. Includes the MEDLINE database, plus detailed drug indexing & broad coverage of the international literature.

International Pharmaceutical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers pharmaceutical science & health related literature 1970-present, updated monthly. Includes information on drug therapy, toxicity, & pharmacy practice, & more. Access through MEDLINE (Ovid).

PubMed @ UM
Premier biomedical journal article database. From the National Library of Medicine.
Useful pharmaceutical MeSH terms can be found here; useful subheadings can be found here. Tutorials on searching for drugs & chemicals can be found here.

MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
The premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of biomedical literature.

Scopus
Interdisciplinary database with good coverage of international literature.
Web of Science
Interdisciplinary database that includes conference proceedings & chemical databases.

Google Scholar @ U-M (with U-M Ann Arbor MGet It Links) This link opens in a new window
Searches for scholarly documents on the web, with the added feature of "Availability at UMichigan" links.

Subject-Specific Resources

ChemBioOffice
Robust suite of scientifically intelligent chemistry productivity tools for the efficient design, & visualization of molecules, reactions, biological entities & pathways in a publication-ready format. Can also be found on Virtual Sites (All Programs/Course Software/SLC/ChemOffice2016
PubChem BioAssay, Compound, Substance

Reaxys (Web Access to Beilstein, Gmelin and Patent Chemistry Database) This link opens in a new window
Combined web access to Beilstein, Gmelin and Patent Chemistry Database, searchable by chemical structures or reactions.
Science of Synthesis This link opens in a new window
Provides a critical review of the synthetic methodology for the entire field of organic & organometallic chemistry from the early 1800s to the present. Includes full text descriptions of synthetic methods with practical experimental procedures that are immediately applicable in the lab.
SciFinder This link opens in a new window
Combined access to Chemical Abstracts, CAPlus, Registry, CASREACT, CHEMLIST, ChemCAT databases, & Medline. See research guide for more information.

SciFinder training recordings 2023

Subject-Specific Databases

Biosis Previews This link opens in a new window
Life sciences & biomedical research covering pre-clinical and experimental research, methods & instrumentation, animal studies, & more.
CINAHL Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
The Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health (CINAHL) database is a good supplement to PubMed, especially when looking for the psycho-social aspects of patient care.
The Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
A collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.

Mergent Intellect
Provides access to current and historical financial information on 15,000 US & 20,000 foreign companies, including pharmaceutical companies, medical device manufacturers, hospitals, & laboratories.

Google Scholar @ U-M (with U-M Ann Arbor MGet It Links) This link opens in a new window
Searches for scholarly documents on the web, with the added feature of "Availability at UMichigan" links.

Clinical Trials

ClinicalTrials.gov This link opens in a new window
Offers up-to-date information for locating federally and privately supported clinical trials.
The Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
A collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.

EU Clinical Trials Register
Contains records of interventional trials conducted in or connected to the EU.