Library Contact
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-2038
734.764.1210
Announcement re: Federal Govt Data
U.S. government sites are modifying some data, and some datasets may not be accessible on the site. Look for a notice like this on visible web pages.
To search for websites/datasets that appear to be inaccessible, check the resources on the individual tabs.
Finding Government Information during the 2025 Administration Transition: https://libguides.umn.edu/
From KFF: A Look at Federal Health Data Taken Offline: https://www.kff.org/policy-watch/a-look-at-federal-health-data-taken-offline/
To search across sites, from Boston University: https://www.FindLostData.org
The Data Rescue Project's Data Rescue Tracker: https://www.datarescueproject.org/data-rescue-tracker/
Internet Archive: https://web.archive.org/ Search by URL, if you have it, or by dataset or organization name, then click on the most recent date on the calendar of results. Data is from the end of administration project that they produce every 4 years (in this case, 28 Jan 2025).
Policy Map: https://www.policymap.com/blog/purged-federal-agency-data-available Including data from CDC PLACES (Population Level Analysis and Community Estimates), the Social Vulnerability Index (SVI), the Climate & Economic Justice Screening Tool (CEJST), & others.
ICPSR: is saving CDC data https://www.icpsr.umich.edu/web/pages/ICPSR/index.html
Preserving Public U.S. Federal Data: https://lil.law.harvard.edu/blog/2025/01/30/preserving-public-u-s-federal-data/ (data not currently available until spring)
Featured Resource
The Health Snapshot allows you to see where all congressional districts across the U.S. stand on over 35 measures of health and factors affecting health across five areas: Health Behaviors, Social and Economic Factors, Physical Environment, Health Outcomes, and Clinical Care.
View metrics for a specific congressional district, explore health metrics across the country, or explore by demographics.
- Congressional District Health Dashboard (RWJF)Includes 37 metrics for all 435 U.S. Congressional Districts. From the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation.
Finding Health Statistics
It can be challenging to find and interpret health statistics. If you're having trouble finding or using statistics, these guides are a good place to start.
- Finding & Using Health StatisticsA course from the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
- Finding data (research guide)Strategies & resources for finding data across the social sciences, including opinion surveys, from the U-M Library's SAND (Spatial And Numeric Data).
Vital Statistics
- National Vital Statistics SystemProvides the most complete data on births & deaths in the U.S.
General Statistical Sources - US
- Census Bureau (US)Search by topic or access data through data visualizations, mobile apps, interactive web apps, & other software. Includes births, deaths, marriages, & so much more). Use Data Gems videos to learn more.
- data.HRSA.govProvides maps, data, reports, & dashboards about HRSA’s health care programs. The data integrates with external sources, such as the U.S. Census Bureau, providing information about HRSA’s grants, loan & scholarship programs, health centers, & other public health programs and services.
- DataFinderSearch for data by indicators & location & easily create custom reports. From the Population Reference Bureau.
- FastStats A-ZProvides quick access to statistics on public health topics, including births & deaths. From the National Center for Health Statistics.
- Health and Medical Care Archive - Robert Wood Johnson FoundationFocuses on healthcare professionals & organizations & the delivery of healthcare.
- ICPSR: Find DataAn international consortium of more than 810 academic institutions & research organizations that provides leadership & training in data access, curation, & methods of analysis for the social science research community. ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 350,000 files of research in the social & behavioral sciences. It hosts 23 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, & other fields.
- National Vital Statistics SystemProvides the most complete data on births & deaths in the U.S.
- Peterson-Kaiser Health System TrackerExplore a variety of indicators of health spending, quality of care, access, & health outcomes.
- ProQuest Statistical Insight This link opens in a new windowIndexes and abstracts statistical publications from international, US and state governments and businesses.
- Social Science Electronic Data Library (SSEDL)Over 600 datasets, such as American Family Data Archive & AIDS/STI Data Archive.
- Statistical Abstract of the U.S.Comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, & economic organization of the U.S., through 2012.
- Surveys and Data Collection Systems (CDC)Surveys & data collection systems from the National Center for Health Statistics.
- IPUMSIPUMS provides census & survey data from around the world integrated across time and space to make it easy to study change, conduct comparative research, merge information across data types, and analyze individuals within family & community contexts. Data & services available free of charge. Includes US & global data.
General Data Sources - Global
- Global Health Observatory (GHO) (including WHOSIS)The GHO is the WHO's gateway to data & statistics.
- Humanitarian Data Exchange (HDX)Humanitarian data from a variety of sources, including WHO, the Red Cross, Gapminder, & more.
- Universal Health Coverage Data Portal (WHO)Provides data by country of health care coverage, including tobacco control, family planning, access to essential medicines, and much more, from the World Health Organization.
COVID-19 Data & Statistical Sources
- County-level Coronavirus Data - New York TimesSince late January 2020, the Times has tracked cases of coronavirus in real time as they were identified after testing. Because of the widespread shortage of testing, however, the data is necessarily limited.
- Coronavirus Cases in MichiganFrom the State of Michigan. Updated daily at 2 p.m.
- Coronavirus (COVID-19) - WHOWorld map + data explorer.
- COVID-19 Interactive MapFrom Johns Hopkins Coronavirus Research Center. Track cases from around the world.
- COVID-19 Resources - IHMEIncludes a model of state-by-sate projections with downloadable data and more.
- MIT COVID-19 Policy Alliance interactive mapAllows for a detailed predictive risk assessment at the county & ZIP Code region.
For more resources on COVID-19, please visit the Special Topic: Novel Coronavirus page of the Global Health research guide.