Pharmacy and Pharmacology

An online curricular resource that searches textbooks and includes a drug database.

Provides monographs for U.S. prescription drugs, as well as herbal supplements, nutritional & OTC products.

A peer-reviewed database of drugs to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed.

Contains prescription & non-prescription drug information, including generic & US & Canadian brand names, black box warnings, pregnancy/lactation information, pediatric dosing, & visual pill identifier tool, plus patient education sheets in multiple languages.

Evidence-based resource about the potential for drugs to cause liver damage.

Extensive monographs with references to journal literature for trade & generic drugs, & herbals. Includes the Red Book (found under the Other Tools menu). Academic use only.

Search & browse drug classes & RxNorm drug members. See tutorial here. From the National Library of Medicine. Find other NLM drug apps here.

Create a free account using your umich.edu email before using. Includes 797 (Pharmaceutical Compounding—Sterile Preparation)

Includes a core list of minimum medicine needs for a basic health-care system and a complementary list of essential medicines for priority diseases.

Use the Search CAM on PubMed link to search a subset of PubMed related to complementary & alternative medicine.

Includes evidence-based information on contraindications, toxicity, & adverse effects of herbal medicines. Maintained by the American Botantical Council.

Contains abstracts published in international scientific journals on dietary supplements, including vitamins, minerals, & herbal & botanical items. Produced by NIH Office of Dietary Supplements with the Department of Agriculture’s National Agricultural Library.

Includes journal articles, book chapters, reports, & reprints on herbs & medicinal plants, & indexes HerbalGram, a peer-reviewed herbal journal. From the National Agricultural Library.

From the Pew Charitable Trusts.

Our print subscription will lapse with the 2020 volume. Online access can be found at the Health Canada Drug Product Database (see above).

Includes Current Shortages, Drugs No Longer Available, No Commercially Available Preparations, Resolved Shortages, Guidelines & Resources, & Report a Shortage.

For iOS & Android.

From the ISMP, the nation’s only 501c (3) nonprofit organization devoted entirely to medication error prevention & safe medication use.

Includes information about approved medical devices, with documents regarding approval, summary of safety & effectiveness, & relevant clinical trials, 1995-present.

Search by drug name or active ingredient. Individual drug records providea view of Approval History, Letters, Reviews, & Related Documents. Trial data are usually found in the Reviews column.

Information on state laws prescription drug misuse and abuse, from the CDC.

Provides information on proposed regulations, including on pharmaceuticals. The Docket Folder contains additional information, including background information (& possibly unpublished data) on clinical trials.

Full scientific assessment reports of medicines authorised at a European-Union level that include scientific discussion sections on the Assessment tab.

Contains product-specific information on drugs approved for use in Canada. Entries may link to a drug monograph containing summary information & trial information.

A registry of federally & privately supported clinical trials conducted in the United States & around the world.

Provides access to a central database containing the trial registration data sets from a variety of registries.

Contains drug pricing via the Red Book.

Formerly known as the International Drug Price Indicator Guide.