Chemistry

Ready to explore the Chemical information world? This research guide will get you started with resources you need for learning, teaching and research in Chemistry, especially those collected/subscribed by the Library. Please use the side tabs to navigate through recommended databases, journals, ebooks, and other resources. 

If you need any assistance during your chemistry-related research, please contact your Chemistry Librarian as shown in the Library Contact box below. 

Download/print FAQ about Library resources and services for students and researchers in Chemistry. 

Q1: How to Access U-M Library?

• U-M Library Gateway  
• More than 20 libraries around campus
• Libraries you will use the most
  • Shapiro Science Library
  • Taubman Health Science Library
  • Art, Architecture & Engineering Library
•  Library Hours  

Q2: How to Find Books?

• Search for a book in Catalog
  • Type the book title or author in the search filed of the main library page 
  • “Available online” option allows you to access book electronically
  • “Get this” option allows you to
    • Recall an item
    • Deliver items to the library you preferred
    • Link to Document Delivery service – scanned articles/book chapters sent online
• View Library Tutorials at https://www.lib.umich.edu/instruction-and-learning-library/library-tutorials-finding-books-and-media

Q3: How to Check Out and Renew Books?

• Check them out at circulation desks (Hatcher or Shapiro libraries) with your MCard.
• Loan periods
• Fines, charges, recalls
• Log onto “My Library Account” (upper right of library homepage) to see your checkout history and renew books 

Q4: How to Find Articles?

• When you are browsing for literature resources, use one of the recommended databases:
  • For Chemistry the full list of available databases
  • For comprehensive coverage of Chemistry resources and structure search use SciFinder
• When you know the citation of an article (title, author, journal, vol, page…), three ways to access:
  • Use databases, see Q5
  • In SciFinder, when article is found, click Other sources --> Read article --> click MGetIt button to access PDF
  • Go to specific journal and use its Citation Search tool (make sure you are on U-M network)
  • If you encounter paywall trying to access the article
    • Make sure you are using U-M network (if off campus – need VPN, see Q7)
    • Request this article through Interlibrary Loan 
• View Library tutorials on Finding Articles 

Q5: How to Access Databases?

• Make sure you have an active account with U-M
  • Contact circulation desk at circservices@umich.edu if you encounter problems with access
  • If your access is confirmed by circulation desk but you still cannot access the database, contact LSA IT Service desk
• When you know which database to use, type the title in the “Search” box and “Go” at the library homepage 
• When you do not know which database to use:
  • Refer to the recommended list in the Research Guides for specific disciplines
    • Chemistry
    • Biology
    • Biological Chemistry
    • Engineering

Q6: How to Access Patents?

• In SciFinder
  • Refine --> Document type --> Patent
  • At U-M every user has 5 free accesses to PatentPak (special tool to view patents)
  • Everyone at U-M has unlimited access to view patents by other tools: click on the title of the patent --> Link to Other Sources --> Select any (e.g Espacenet).
  • In Espacenet, click on Patent’s title à Original document or Claims to access PDF.
• Refer to research guide on Patents and Trademarks 
• Use database InnovationQ Plus
  • Registration using umich.edu e-mail is recommended to access full functionality view
  • Tutorials 

Q7: How to Access Resources Remotely?

• Set up VPN
• Use Proxy Server Bookmarklet to reload the page

Q8: How to Get Resources Library Does Not Own?

• Document Delivery
• Request a purchase
  • Contact Subject Specialist
  • Fill request form         
  • Allow processing time

Q9: How to Browse Resources Recommended?

• Browse Research Guides
  • General
  • Subject-specific
    • Chemistry
    • Biology
    • Biological Chemistry
    • Engineering
• Browse in the “Search” box and “Go” at the Library homepage 

Q10: How to Get Help?

• Contact Ask A Librarian service

  • Available 24h 7d/week by phone, instant chat, e-mail, or in-person

• For issues related to access to U-M resources
  • Contact circulation desk at circservices@umich.edu to confirm your access
  • If your access is confirmed by circulation desk but you still cannot access the database, contact LSA IT Service desk
• For software availability
  • For ChemDraw,
    • For instructions, refer to Research Guide on ChemDraw 
    • Install on your own computer 
  • LSA IT is in charge of IT needs for Chemistry Department 
  • Documentation on ITS website provides a list of software available in Sites locations
• For Chemistry-related, refer to Chemistry Research Guide
• For subject-specific question, contact Subject Specialist

• For reference management, image processing and poster preparation etc., contact

  • ScholarSpace Services

  • Um 3D Lab - 3D visualization and printing

  • Groundworks (Media conversion

• For Data
  • Management and Sharing
  • Preservation: LSA IT
  • Copyright issues