U-M Resources
- Cheminclusion: Diversity, Equity & Inclusion
- Members of the Michigan Chemistry community share their thoughts on Black History Month
- F.E.M.M.E.S. programs encourage girls to learn and explore their potential in science, technology, math, and engineering (STEM)
Can you name a female scientist?
- Not one woman's name included in GCSE science national curriculum, study finds
- Sisters in Science: Conversations with Black Women Scientists on Race, Gender, and Their Passion for Science
- Women in Chemistry: Their Changing Roles from Alchemical times to the Mid-Twentieth Century
- Women in Chemistry
- Women Chemists of Color Summit Videos
- The Women Scientists of India
- Menon, B.R.K. The missing colours of chemistry. Nat. Chem. 13, 101–106 (2021). https://doi.org/10.1038/s41557-020-00632-8
- The Science History Institute has lot of oral histories: https://oh.sciencehistory.org/.
- From The Writer’s Almanac, 5/4/21: Agnes Fay Morgan, born in Peoria, Illinois (1884). She studied chemistry in college and received her Ph.D. from the University of Chicago. But job prospects for female chemists were bleak, so she took a position in the Home Economics department at the University of California, Berkeley, in 1915. She was an associate professor of “household science,” specifically nutrition. She made it her mission to bring the element of science into the program, which was typically dismissed as “women’s work.” When she was made chair of the department, she increased the rigor of the program and worked to have it taken seriously. While other home economics programs were little more than instruction on the art of gracious living, Morgan required all of her students to have a solid foundation in physical and biological science. In 1960 — six years after Morgan retired — the Home Economics Department was renamed the Nutritional Sciences Department, and a year after that their building was renamed Agnes Fay Morgan Hall. Even after she officially retired she never gave up her research and continued to show up to her Berkeley office on a regular basis until her death in 1968. Morgan, with her background in chemistry applied to the field of nutrition, wrote more than 250 scientific papers. She was responsible for much of what we know about the vitamins in food. She also proved the link between vitamin deficiencies and poor health conditions, showed certain vitamins’ effect on hormones, and analyzed the effects of heat and processing on the stability of vitamins and proteins.
Library Collection on Women in Science
African American Women Chemists in the Modern Era by ISBN: 0190615184Publication Date: 2018
American Women in Science: 1950 to the Present by
This fascinating biographical dictionary surveys the American women who have made significant contributions to major fields of scientific endeavor since 1950. In American Women in Science, each of the concise A-Z biographies of more than 300 women includes information on the woman's background, employment history, honors, and publications, and then places her achievements in the appropriate scientific and social context. Other features include illustrations, bibliographic references, and an index that lists women by scientific discipline. Among the biographical entries are Jane Brody, Helen Mary Caldicott, Ada E. Deer, Jane Delgado, Dian Fossey, Margaret Hamilton, Devrie Intriligator, Shirley Ann Jackson, and Judith Kimble. All biographical entries are indexed by profession, name, and subject, making this an outstanding reference for students and teachers of women's studies and science as well as anyone interested in the scientific achievements of women.
ISBN: 9780874369212Publication Date: 1998-11-01
Chemistry Was Their Life by
British chemistry has traditionally been depicted as a solely male endeavour. However, this perspective is untrue: the allure of chemistry has attracted women since the earliest times. Despite the barriers placed in their path, women studied academic chemistry from the 1880s onwards and made interesting or significant contributions to their fields, yet they are virtually absent from historical records.Comprising a unique set of biographies of 141 of the 896 known women chemists from 1880 to 1949, this work attempts to address the imbalance by showcasing the determination of these women to survive and flourish in an environment dominated by men. Individual biographical accounts interspersed with contemporary quotes describe how women overcame the barriers of secondary and tertiary education, and of admission to professional societies. Although these women are lost to historical records, they are brought together here for the first time to show that a vibrant culture of female chemists did indeed exist in Britain during the late 19th and early 20th centuries.
ISBN: 1860949878Publication Date: 2008-10-23
Women in Chemistry and Physics by
Biographies of women scientists are few in number. This volume fills that gap in the literature. It includes extensive profiles, arranged alphabetically, of 75 women from different countries who have been influential in the development of chemistry and physics. Subjects were chosen on the basis of their advanced degrees, innovative research, influence in teaching, leadership in the profession, and scholarly publications. Each profile includes a biography, a career discussion, and a bibliography of works by and about the subject. Biographies provide personal information with special attention to influences on the subject's career. The career discussions indicate the significance of the subject's contributions in language accessible to the layperson. The work provides a valuable contribution to both women's studies and the history of chemistry and physics and should serve as an inspiration to young women seeking a career in the physical sciences.
ISBN: 9780313273827Publication Date: 1993-10-25
Women Scientists by
Magdolna Hargittai uses over fifteen years of in-depth conversation with female physicists, chemists, biomedical researchers, and other scientists to form cohesive ideas on the state of the modern female scientist. The compilation, based on sixty conversations, examines unique challenges that women with serious scientific aspirations face. In addition to addressing challenges and the unjustifiable underrepresentation of women at the higher levels of academia, Hargittai takes a balanced approach by discussing how some of the most successful of these women have managed to obtain professional success and personal happiness.Women Scientists portrays scientists from different backgrounds, different geographical regions-eighteen countries from four continents-and leaders from a variety of professional backgrounds, including eight Nobel laureate women. The book is divided into three sections: "Husband and Wife Teams," "Women at the Top," and "In High Positions." Hargittai uses her own experience to introduce her first section on the lives of prominent scientific couples and addresses the joys and disadvantages of husband and wife teams. The second section is a comprehensive exploration of the struggles and triumphs of "women at the top." Hargittai introduces women from countries where relatively little has been written about female scientists. The final section focuses on women scientists involved with science administration and leadership. Hargittai's biographical sketches role models for budding scientists. The book is a much needed account of female presence and influence in the sciences.
ISBN: 0199359997Publication Date: 2015-01-01
The Secret History of Home Economics by
The term "home economics" may conjure traumatic memories of lopsided hand-sewn pillows or sunken muffins. But common conception obscures the story of the revolutionary science of better living. The field exploded opportunities for women in the twentieth century by reducing domestic work and providing jobs as professors, engineers, chemists, and businesspeople. And it has something to teach us today. In the surprising, often fiercely feminist and always fascinating The Secret History of Home Economics, Danielle Dreilinger traces the field's history from Black colleges to Eleanor Roosevelt to Okinawa, from a Betty Crocker brigade to DIY techies. These women--and they were mostly women--became chemists and marketers, studied nutrition, health, and exercise, tested parachutes, created astronaut food, and took bold steps in childhood development and education. Home economics followed the currents of American culture even as it shaped them. Dreilinger brings forward the racism within the movement along with the strides taken by women of color who were influential leaders and innovators. She also looks at the personal lives of home economics' women, as they chose to be single, share lives with other women, or try for egalitarian marriages. This groundbreaking and engaging history restores a denigrated subject to its rightful importance, as it reminds us that everyone should learn how to cook a meal, balance their account, and fight for a better world.
ISBN: 9781324021865Publication Date: 2022-05-03
Ethics in Chemistry
- J. Mehlich, F. Moser, B. Van Tiggelen, L. Campanella, H. Hopf, The Ethical and Social Dimensions of Chemistry: Reflections, Considerations, and Clarifications. Chem. Eur. J. 2017, 23, 1210.
- Kovac J. Ethics in Science: The Unique Consequences of Chemistry. Account Res. 2015;22(6):312-29. doi: 10.1080/08989621.2015.1047709.
- Rick Reibstein, A more ethical chemistry, Current Opinion in Green and Sustainable Chemistry, Volume 8, 2017, Pages 36-44, ISSN 2452-2236, https://doi.org/10.1016/j.cogsc.2017.09.004.
- Ethics in Chemistry by Nina Notman, 18 May 2018, in ChemistryWorld
- Royal Society of Chemistry Guide to Ethics
- American Chemical Society (ACS) Ethical & Professional Guidelines
- ACS Committee on Ethics
Library collection of ethics in Chemistry
Ethics of ChemistryISBN: 9789811233531
The Ethical Chemist by
This book is an introduction to professional ethics in chemistry. After a brief overview of ethical theory, it provides a detailed discussion of professional ethic for chemists based on the view that the specific codes of conduct derive from a moral ideal. The moral ideal presented here hasthree parts. The first refers to the practice of science, the second to relationships within the scientific community and the third to the relationship between science and society, particularly the uses of science. The question of why a scientist should obey the professional code is discussed interms of the virtue of reverence, after which the ethical issues unique to chemistry are identified. A method for approaching ethical problems is presented. Finally, there is a large collection of specific ethical problems, or cases, each followed by a commentary where the issues raised by that caseare discussed.
ISBN: 9780190668648Publication Date: 2018-09-07
Last Updated: Nov 4, 2024 5:14 PM
Subjects: Science