This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Social Work" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
MLibrary Home | Mirlyn Search Tools MGet It | Ask a Librarian
University of Michigan

Social Work   Tags: best_bet, social_work  

A guide to social work research at the University of Michigan.
Last Updated: Aug 18, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.umich.edu/social-work Print Guide RSS Updates

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 

Other Research Guides

Find library resources on other social work topics.

Aging & Gerontology
by Sue Wortman - Last Updated Apr 7, 2014
Finding research and information related to the study of aging and gerontology.
529 views this year
Comparing Social Policies/Programs
by Sue Wortman, Jungwon Yang - Last Updated Sep 16, 2014
This is a guide to resources for the policy comparison assignment for Social Work 530 classes, Introduction to Social Welfare Policy and Services.
724 views this year
Congress
by Catherine Morse - Last Updated Sep 18, 2014
Use for researching Congress or finding Congressional documents like bills. laws, legislation, serial set, debate, Congressional Record, CRS reports, primary source documents, hearings, prints, reports and policy.
895 views this year
Health Care Disparities
by Carol Shannon, Judy Smith, Sue Wortman - Last Updated Feb 11, 2014
This is a library research guide developed for students taking Social Work 634, Health Care Services and Policies during winter term 2012.
719 views this year
Program Evaluation
by Sue Wortman - Last Updated May 11, 2014
This guide is a collection of resources for faculty, students and researchers interested in program evaluation.
2,154 views this year
Social Work: Global Practice
by Sue Wortman - Last Updated May 12, 2014
This course guide highlights sources of international data and information useful to social work students in the classes covering global practice. It is also meant to help social work students pursuing international field placements.
407 views this year
SW 522 - Basic Social Work Research
by Sue Wortman - Last Updated Aug 6, 2014
Course guide for SW 522 - Fall term 2013 Basic Social Work Research.
67,844 views this year
U.S. Census and Demographic Information
by Catherine Morse, Jungwon Yang - Last Updated Jun 26, 2014
A general guide to understanding and finding demographic data produced by the U.S. Census Bureau
11,897 views this year
Vulnerable Children, Youth and Families in Society
by Sue Wortman - Last Updated Jan 2, 2014
Guide to finding research and information related to the study of children and youth in social work, along with some resources on domestic violence and family issues.
595 views this year
Academic Integrity in Social Work
by Sue Wortman - Last Updated Aug 18, 2014
This is guide for students of the School of Social Work with information on academic integrity and plagiarism.
217 views this year

Research Tools

Welcome to the University of Michigan Library

 

This research guide will take you through many of the resources available for social work at the University of Michigan. Shaprio Undergraduate Library is just across the street from the School of Social Work Building and Hatcher Graduate Library is right next door to the Undergraduate Library. Wherever a book is located you can have it delivered to the library that's most convenient for you and pick it up at the circulation desk at that library. 

  • Mirlyn - The Library Catalog
    Search Mirlyn for books, videos and titles of journals. You can't look up the title or author of an article in Mirlyn. Use article indexes/databases when you want to search for articles. For additional information on searching the library catalog watch this brief video on getting started with Mirlyn.
  • Top Resources for Social Work Research
    Use the blue browse box, located at the top of many library web pages for suggested library resources by subject area. This link listed here takes you to a few of the top resources for Social Work. There are also pages of resources for Public Policy, Public Health, Statistics and more.
  • Search Tools
    Search Tools can be used to find links to databases and other online resources. You can browse Search Tools for databases names alphabetically or by subject. You can also search for article index databases or online encyclopedias by name or by using key words.
  • ArticlesPlus
    Searches nearly 100,000 journals, newspapers, magazines and e-books at the same time and provides access to over a half-billion articles. An excellent place to start to find articles on a broad, interdisciplinary topic. Watch this brief video for more information about ArticlesPlus.

Further Help

  • Ask A Librarian
    Contact a librarian by email, chat, stop by a reference desk or make an appointment to visit a librarian.
  • Graduate Library Reference Desk
    Stop by the reference desk in the Graduate Library or Shapiro Undergraduate Library for help in searching any of the resources in this guide.
  • Library Workshops
    Learn to use RefWorks, EndNote, scan, make a web-page and more at these free workshops offered by the University Library and other TTC partners. Online registration required.

Library Contact

Profile Image
Sue Wortman
Contact Info
209 Hatcher North
(734) 764-5198
Send Email
 

  Library Help

The current on-duty librarian for the library-wide Ask a Librarian IM service is available when you see a green dot at the top of the box.

See http://www.lib.umich.edu/ask for additional contact methods.

Contact

We welcome your feedback on our web site.

Copyright

Creative Commons

Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 license. For details and exceptions, see the Library Copyright Statement.

©2014, Regents of the University of Michigan

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip