Social Work

Most comprehensive guide to resources for social work research at the University of Michigan.

Research Databases

CINAHL Complete (EBSCO)
Primary journal index for nursing and allied health professions.

Counseling and Therapy in Video
An online video collection for the study of social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling.
Contains nearly 1000 hours of video in many formats including lectures, actual therapy sessions, reenactments, documentaries, and more. Covers a variety of treatment modalities and approaches.

more... less...

Access limited to current UM students, faculty and staff.

DSM-5-TR
Access to the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 5th edition.
Gale Health and Wellness
Provides access to medical, health, and wellness information from authoritative medical sources.
PsycInfo (APA)
Premier resource for surveying the literature of psychology and adjunct fields. Covers 1887-present. Produced by the APA.
PubMed @ U-M (with MGet It links)
Indexes over 4,000 biomedical, nursing, dentistry and related journals, with over 27 million citations in MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE and related databases.
Social Services Abstracts
An index and abstract of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas.
STAT!Ref
Full-text resource that searches across more than 25 medical and drug texts.

Social Determinants of Health Database (Beta Version)
SDOH beta data files are curated from existing Federal datasets and other publicly available data sources. The purpose of the files is to make it easier to find a range of well-documented, readily-linkable SDOH variables across domains without having to access multiple source files. From the U.S. government Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality.

Selected Handbooks and Encyclopedias in the Library

Below are some examples of the many encyclopedic treatments of health issues in the university library. Search the library catalog for more resources, including discussions of specific diseases and disorders.