Library Contact
Catherine Morse
she/her
Contact:
Government Information, Law and Political Science Librarian
Clark Library
Hatcher Graduate Library 2 South
Clark Library
Hatcher Graduate Library 2 South
734-936-2333
US Government on Twitter
- TweetSets (George Washington University)Collection of large Twitter datasets (tweet IDs) on a variety of newsworthy topics, including a number of political and election-related topics (primarily US) back to 2016. To use them, you have to rehydrate the tweets using a tool like DocNow’s Hydrator: https://github.com/DocNow/hydrator.
- DocNow Tweet CatalogThe DocNow Catalog is a collectively curated listing of Twitter datasets. Public datasets are shared as Tweet IDs, which can be hydrated back into full datasets using the DocNow Hydrator desktop application.
- ProQuest Congressional Government Social MediaSearch Facebook and Twitter for Members of Congress and Government Agencies from 2014-2018
- U.S. and India Politicians DatasetUniversity of Michigan researchers can access a compilation of tweets known as the “U.S. and India Politicians Dataset” without charge. Anmol Panda (anmolp@umich.edu) and Libby Hemphill (libbyh@umich.edu) in the School of Information collect and maintain the data and its associated metadata.. MIDAS, CSCAR and ARC together manage and support the use of this data repository.
Background Information on U.S. Government
Ben's Guide to U.S. Government
Ben's Guide is a fun site that can help you remember what you learned in school. This site is great if you have a question about how US elections, how a bill becomes a law or how the federal government works with states.
Federal Depository Library
The University of Michigan has been a Federal Depository Library since 1884. Depository libraries provide local, no-fee access to government information in a non-partisan environment with professional librarians available to assist users.
United States Government Manual
- United States Government ManualProvides information on the structure of the US government including organizational charts, agency histories and even lists major publications.
Government Spending
- USASpending.govProvides data on how and where tax dollars are spent including information on various types of contracts, grants, loans, and other types of spending.
Best Bets for Finding US Government Information
- Advanced Library Catalog SearchAs a Federal Depository Library we receive copies of US government documents and make them available in our collections. For online documents we make links available in the catalog. Tip: search "United States" as the author
- Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (GPO Monthly Catalog) This link opens in a new windowProvides citations to U.S. federal government publications. Contains references to books, reports, studies, serials, maps and other publications.
- GovInfoOnline portal from the US Government Printing Office. Provides free public access to collections including bills, laws, government reports, and Public Papers of the Presidents. Open access for all users.
- USA.govUSA.gov is the official U.S. portal to federal, state, local, tribal, and international government information and services.
- U.S. Federal Documents Collection (HathiTrust)Searchable collection of almost a million US Federal Government documents. Most are available to read in full view
Last Updated: Sep 3, 2024 10:23 AM
Subjects: Government, Politics & Law