Skip to Main Content

Staying Informed for Social Work Practice

Offers resources and tips for keeping current with social work research for recent graduates and field instructors for the School of Social Work. It includes links to many free databases, government information and other resources.

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Darlene Nichols
Contact:
Hatcher Graduate Library
734-936-2362
Website

U-M Library Services for Alumni

Changes in Library Services After Graduation...

Using Library Articles Search as an Alumni

  • After graduation from University of Michigan you will no longer have access to Library electronic databases and most online journals from off campus. Access to materials is always available by coming to a campus library and using a guest computer. 
  • Alumni can no longer check out materials for free from the library after graduation.
  • Anyone is free to come in to any library location and use a guest login to find, read, and print most online materials.
  • For a fee of $125.00 annually you can register for alumni book borrowing privileges. This fee does not include access to online materials and library databases, however. Because of licensing agreements with publishers access is not available to online library materials once you have graduated.
  • Alumni and those not affiliated with the University of Michigan may search for materials from off-campus using Library Articles Search or the Library catalog. Full text will not be available unless you make a trip to the University of Michigan Library and use one of our guest computers. If you find a citation or article for your research you may also be able to request the article via Interlibrary Loan services from a public library in your area.

 

 

  For more detailed information on alumni library privileges see
Services for Alumni.

 

Using Other Libraries

You may be able to meet many of your research and reading needs through libraries other than U-M.

  • Take advantage of your local public library for interlibrary loan. You may be able to request materials owned by large research libraries and have them delivered to your local library at little to no charge.
  • Many public libraries also offer remote access to databases, ebooks, and periodical to library card holders.
  • Check to see if your state library offers access to electronic resources to state residents. For example, the State Library of Michigan provides access to many databases, ebooks, and journals through the Michigan eLibrary and our neighbors to the south offer the Ohio Digital Library.
  • If you are not in the Ann Arbor area, try visiting an academic library near your location. Many public university libraries allow visitors guest privileges which would enable you to search their library databases and read, print, or email full-text electronic articles.

U-M Library Guest Computers

  • Guest computers are available at Hatcher Graduate Library on the second floor. Instructions for logging in are available on the computer screen or ask for assistance at the Ask a Librarian desk nearby.
  • There are also several computers for guests at Shapiro Library on the first floor. Ask at the circulation desk if you need assistance.

Using Copiers at the Library

The University Library offers self-service copying and scanning in many libraries across campus. Guest copying and printing is managed by through an account.  Guests may create an account, then visit circulation desks of the Hatcher, Shapiro, and Art, Architecture and Engineering libraries to pick up a new copy/print card or add value to your new account.  Guest copying and printing accounts will work at any printer or copier supported by Campus Computing Sites. There are also options to scan documents to email using guest copiers. Instructions are available at the guest printers which are either on the first floor of Shapiro Undergraduate Library or the second floor of Hatcher Graduate Library.