Skip to main content
Library Research Guides

ED 431: Teaching of Social Studies in the Elementary School

This guide is designed to help ED 431 students find and evaluate resources that they can use while teaching elementary school social studies

Suggested Search Terms

Try these keywords when searching in different databases to find different types of primary sources:

  • Biographies
  • Correspondence
  • Diaries
  • Early Works
  • Interviews
  • Maps
  • Periodicals
  • Personal Narratives
  • Sources

Finding Archival Sources in Michigan and beyond

Use ArchiveGrid to find archives close to you.

Find archives through Archive Grid

Bentley Historical Library

The Bentley Historical Library on North Campus includes both the official University of Michigan archives and materials related to the history of the state. Specialized digitized collections of interest are listed below.  Contact Cinda Nofziger at cindamn@umich.edu for more information.

Digital Materials

These are selected digital collections in which you might find primary sources.  Be advised that almost every state has a digital collections site and so do many universities. 

National Archives:  Teacher Resources
Various tools and resources from the National Archives.

American Memory (Library of Congress)

American Memory (Library of Congress)
With over 7 million digital items, American Memory is a gateway to a rich
collection of primary source material.

New York Public Library Digital Collections The New York Public Library Digital Collections
A living database with new materials added every day, featuring prints,
photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more.
OAIster Digital Materials OAIster
An open archive of millions of digital materials from libraries around the world.
The Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives The Sixties:  Primary Documents and Personal Narratives 1960-1974
Brings the 1960s alive through diaries, letters, autobiographies and other
memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents,
memorabilia, and scholarly commentary.
Civil Rights Movement Veterans 
Stories, poetry, audio recordings, and other primary sources about the Civil Rights Movement.

Digital Newspaper Collections

ProQuest Historical Newspapers

Proquest Historical Newspapers
ProQuest cross-search providing full-text access to the complete 
backfiles of 26 U.S. and 32 international English-language
newspapers from Canada, China, India, Ireland, Israel, and the United
Kingdom.  *Only Available to Current University of Michigan Students*

Google News Archives Google News Archives
Digitized newspaper content, including historical material.
America's Historical Newspapers America's Historical Newspapers
Early American newspapers 1690-1922.  *Only Available to Current
University of Michigan Students*
17th-18th Century Burney Newspapers 17th-18th Century Burney Newspapers
Many of the Burney newspapers are well known, but many pamphlets
and broadsides also included have remained largely hidden.  Covers 1604-
1804.*Only Available to Current University of Michigan Students*
African American Newspapers African American Newspapers: The 19th Century
Several digitized African-American newspapers, including papers 
from the Civil War era.  *Only Available to Current University of
Michigan Students*
Hispanic American Newspapers Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980
Features hundreds of Hispanic American newspapers, including many
long scattered and forgotten titles published in the 19th century. *Only
Available to Current University of Michigan Students*