Clinical Information Resources

An extensive collection of clinical ophthalmic cases and their pathology. This is an online resource coordinated by the National Eye Institute (NEI). Images in the collection are not copyrighted and may be reproduced without permission. However, credit must be given to the “Cogan Collection, NEI/NIH.”

Specialty images and case reviews from the Edward S. Harkness Eye Institute, College of Physicians & Surgeons of Columbia University. Any redistribution, retransmission or republication of any copyrighted material is strictly prohibited without the express written consent of the copyright owner. You may use these images in lectures or teaching of trainees provided that you agree not to change or delete any proprietary notices from materials downloaded and do not receive compensation for the use of these images.

From the UC Davis School of Medicine, to teach medical students how the eye motion will change with pathology of the eye muscles and cranial nerves and what to look for during a standard neurological eye exam.

Photos and images covering eye conditions, anatomy, and diagnostics and treatment. Permission is granted to use these items for educational, news media or research purposes, provided the source for each image is credited. The NEI Media Library may not be used to promote or endorse commercial products or services. Use by non-profit organizations in connection with fundraising or product sales is considered commercial use.

Links to a number of Neuro-Ophthalmology collections, including those from NANOS, David G. Cogan, and William F. Hoyt. See Terms of Use.

Extensive collection of cases, videos, tutorials, and more from the University of Iowa and other contributors. The content is copyrighted. The contributing authors allow visitors (including health care professionals who wish to distribute materials to patients) to duplicate portions of this site for personal or educational use without seeking permission from the authors. No one may use these photographs for financial gain without written authorization from the contributor.

An interactive teaching and assessment program on vision care from Dr. Jonathan Trobe, University of Michigan Kellogg Eye Center. Except where otherwise noted, content on this site is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 License

Fifty chapter course by Dr. Wallace Alward at the University of Iowa. Includes videos, images, and “Gonioscopy.org”.

Educational presentation of neuro-ophthalmology conditions, includes videos, images, and quizzes from Dr. Jonathan Trobe, University of Michigan Kellogg Eye Center.

Case studies presented in an educational format with questions and answers. Also includes brain teasers and an historical tour of ophthalmology.

This journal, which started in 1985, represents a lifelong mission of renowned ophthalmic surgeon and educator, Robert H. Osher, MD, to advance knowledge and surgical training of eye surgeons. From late 2009 to present, content is available online free of charge. Glaucoma was added in 2018.