This is the "Primary Resources" page of the "Genetics" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
MLibrary Home | Mirlyn Search Tools MGet It Ask a Librarian
University of Michigan

Genetics   Tags: genetics, health_sciences, science  

A research guide to useful sources in the field of genetics for UM researchers.
Last Updated: Aug 10, 2010 URL: http://guides.lib.umich.edu/28690 Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Primary Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Entrez

ENTREZ (NCBI)
Entrez is a retrieval system produced by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) for searching several linked databases. The Entrez Global Query searches across all the databases at once. This new portal page allows for searching inseveral linked databases including: biomedical journal literature (PubMed), a nucleotide sequence database (GenBank), a protein sequence database, three-dimensional macromolecular structures, complete genome assemblies, population study data sets (PopSet), organisms in GenBank (Taxonomy), and Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man (OMIM), on one page rather than each database individually. Pre-computed similarity searches are available for most database records producing a list of related sequences, structure neighbors, as well as related articles.

National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) Site Map A resource guide.

Gene Gateway
This website introduces various internet tools that anyone can use to investigate genetic disorders, chromosomes, genome maps, genes, sequence data, genetic variants, and molecular structures . Produced by the U.S. Department of Energy Biological and Environmental Research program.

National Human Genome Research Institute

Human Genome Project (HGP)

Online Metabolic & Molecular Bases of Inherited Disease (OMMBID)
A compendium of genetic disorders and information from the entire field of genetics. It has interactive tools and provides info on the molecular and metabolic underpinnings of a growing list of diseases as well as retrieve updates on pathophysiology and treatment. OMMBID is continuously populated with peer-reviewed, evidenced based data.

 

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Merle Rosenzweig
 

Library Help

The current on-duty librarian for the library-wide Ask a Librarian IM service is available when you see a green dot at the top of the box.

See http://www.lib.umich.edu/ask for additional contact methods.

Site Feedback

We welcome your feedback on our web site.

Copyright

Creative Commons

Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 license. Details and exceptions.

©2010, Regents of the University of Michigan

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip