Your Informationist
Databases for Geriatric & Palliative Medicine
Searching in databases listed here complements your searches in core biomedical citation databases like PubMed. Links to core biomedical article databases are found on the Clinical Resources Home page.
-
AgeLine (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowIndexes aging-related content from the health sciences, psychology, sociology, social work, economics, and public policy.
-
CINAHL CompleteAuthoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers. Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association, this database covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines, and contains: Indexing for over 5000 nursing journals and publications dating as far back as 1937.
-
Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new windowAn index and abstract of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas.
-
PsycInfo (APA) This link opens in a new windowPremier resource for surveying the literature of psychology and adjunct fields. Covers 1887-present. Produced by the APA.
Selected Geriatrics Online Journals
Selected Geriatrics E-Books
-
Current Diagnosis and Treatment: Geriatrics, 3/e
by
ISBN: 9781260457087Publication Date: 2020-10-21 -
Essentials of Clinical Geriatrics, Eighth Edition
by
ISBN: 9781259860515Publication Date: 2017-09-28 -
Hazzard's Geriatric Medicine and Gerontology, Eighth Edition
by
ISBN: 9781260464450Publication Date: 2022-06-13
Geriatrics Review Syllabus
Contains the latest developments in geriatric medicine. From the American Geriatrics Society.
Selected Online Journals in Palliative Care
Selected Palliative Care E-Books
-
Case Studies in Palliative and End-Of-Life Care
by
Publication Date: 2013 -
Dying in America
by
Publication Date: 2015 -
-
Handbook of Pain Relief in Older Adults
by
Publication Date: 2011 -
Palliative and End of Life Care for Children and Young People
by
Publication Date: 2013
Palliative Care Resources
PubMed - MeSH
- Ethics (encompasses Bioethics, Clinical Ethics, Professional Ethics, & so much more)
- Advance Care Planning
- Attitude to Death
- Bereavement (includes Grief)
- Caregivers
- Euthanasia (includes Active and Passive Euthanasia)
- Hospice Care, Hospices, Hospice and Palliative Care Nursing
- Palliative Care, Palliative Medicine (added 2015)
- Patient Comfort
- Quality of Life
- Patient Care Team
- Right to Die
- Resuscitation (includes Resuscitation Orders, that is, DNR)
- Social Work
- Social Support
- Terminally Ill, Terminal Care
- consider Psychology as a subheading or additional search term, where appropriate
Edmonton Symptom Assessment System revised (ESAS-r) : Assesses symptoms in patients receiving palliative care
Katz Index of Independence in Activities of Daily Living
Measurement & Evaluation Tools: Tools to measure pain & symptoms, functional status, psychosocial care, caregiver assessment, & quality of life. From the National Palliative Care Research Center.
FastStats - Hospice Care
From the CDC.
Guidelines for Palliative Care
-
Clinical Practice Guidelines for Quality Palliative Care 4th ed.Scroll down the page to find their free digital book. Creates a blueprint for excellence by establishing a comprehensive foundation for gold-standard palliative care for all people living with serious illness, regardless of their diagnosis, prognosis, age or setting.
Includes clinical & organizational strategies, screening & assessment elements, practice examples, tools & resources.
Last Updated: Oct 16, 2025 11:57 AM
Subjects: Health Sciences