Research Guides: Digital Scholarship: Resources on Campus

Digital Scholarship Resources at U-M Ann Arbor

The University of Michigan is rich in resources, and there are number units at the university and at the U-M Library where you can find expertise, get research and teaching help, and get access to tools and subscriptions.

If you don't know where to start, send your questions to library-ds@umich.edu and get connected with an expert in the library who can make recommendations about next steps.

Workshops and Training Opportunities

To get started learning new tools, approaches, and methods, consider taking workshops with the library and our campus partners.

U-M Library Support for Digital Scholarship

U-M Library Digital Scholarship Services
The U-M Library offers support to students, faculty, and staff through a number of different services. Get connected with an expert, find answers to questions, or find out about opportunities.
Stephen S. Clark Library
Collections and expertise for government information, GIS, maps, and spatial and numeric data.
ScholarSpace
Learn more about using technology in your research and teaching. Hands-on workshops and one-on-one assistance are available with a range of software tools and equipment, in addition to dissertation formatting, poster design, citation management, zine making, and more.
Shapiro Design Lab
The Shapiro Design Lab offers a creative workspace and expert guidance for students, faculty, and staff to develop, experiment, and collaborate on projects through the use of a variety of available tools — from hands-on and digital prototype and design equipment to community engagement resource.

Getting Help for a Digital Scholarship Project at U-M

A number units at the University of Michigan and in the U-M Library can assist you with tools and expertise for digital scholarship projects or classes.

Center for Academic Innovation
CAI works with faculty, staff, and students to expand the university's public mission through development of software, online courses, and media content.
Consulting for Statistics, Computing and Analytics Research
CSCAR provides individualized support and training to U-M researchers in a variety of areas relating to the management, collection and analysis of data. The team at CSCAR also supports the use of technical software and advanced computing in research, supporting researchers across campus to overcome challenges that arise in their investigations. They offer consultations, workshops and a range of support options.
Duderstadt Center
Open to the U-M community, the Duderstadt Center describes itself as "an ecosystem for creativity and innovation that enables you to engage, hands-on, with advanced digital-media creative resources and information technologies, collaborate with peers and experts across disciplines, and expand the vision for your academic and career future."
Institute for the Humanities
Offers a range of public and scholarly programming events, including weekly brown bag talks, public lectures, conferences, art exhibits, and performances. The Institute also provides funding opportunities and grants to graduate students and faculty in areas related to digital pedagogy and research.
LSA Technology Services Digital Scholarship Studio
The Digital Scholarship pilot service provides web platforms, provides expertise, and connects you with other scholars and resources for Digital Scholarship (DS) and Digital Humanities (DH) teaching and learning, research, and publishing.
Michigan Institute for Data Science
MIDAS leads, enables and facilitates data science and AI research through the development of resources, grant support, workshops, and research events and seminars.
Sweetland Center for Writing
Teaches and supports new media and multimodal forms of writing.
Teaching & Technology Collaborative
Year-round workshops on technology for research and classroom use. Sponsor of the Enriching Scholarship symposium held every year in May.

Resources for Graduate Students

In addition to the above offices and centers, graduate students, in particular, have access to a number of opportunities to develop skills, engage in learning communities, and gain credentials.

U-M Library Digital Scholarship Certificate
This is extracurricular, non-credit bearing, certificate for graduate students is designed to help graduate students gain digital skills and develop a project related to teaching or research interests.
Digital Studies Graduate Certificate
The Digital Studies Institute at the University of Michigan offers a 12-credit hour Graduate Certificate Program focusing on the study of the digital world from a critical, interdisciplinary perspective.
Rackham Program in Public Scholarship
Rackham provides a number of opportunities and resources for graduate students. In particular, the Program in Public Scholarship provides workshops, grants, programs, and professional development opportunities for graduate students from any field. The program supports research and teaching, as well as projects co-created with community partners and organizations that reach public audiences and have impacts beyond the university.
Rackham Interdisciplinary Workshops
A program whereby graduate students and faculty sponsors propose a workshop organized around an area of inquiry and receive funding and support from Rackham to hold regular activities.
CRLT Graduate Teacher Certificate
The U-M Graduate Teacher Certificate (GTC) offers graduate students at the University of Michigan (Ann Arbor campus) an opportunity to document professional development as college-level instructors and prepare for a faculty job search. Programming includes workshops on digital tools and activities in the classroom.
Shapiro Design Lab Internships and Residencies
Designed to be a student peer learning community that focuses on developing student-led projects, the Shapiro Design Lab offer's undergraduate and graduate students a creative workspace to pursue individual projects. Additionally, students will work to provide consultation and guidance for students, faculty, and staff to develop, experiment, and collaborate on projects through the use of a variety of available tools — from hands-on and digital prototype and design equipment to community engagement resources.