Research Guides: Art, Architecture and Engineering Library (AAEL) Orientation: AAEL

Answers to Common Questions: Accessing AAEL resources online

When searching in an online database, click on the MGet It button to see if U-M Library owns the full text of the article you want.

U-M Library doesn't own the article you're looking for in either electronic or paper format? No problem! Use InterLibrary Loan to request that we get the article for you.
Don't want to deal with copying or scanning an article or getting a book from a library that's not convenient to go to? Check out Document Delivery, our delivery system that is FREE for graduate students and faculty members!
Want to keep all your citations organized? You can learn about citation management programs on this research guide: Citation Management Options.

Research Guides

You can use these library guides to get started on research in your subject area. Most of the resources are these guides are available online so you can access them from anywhere in the world!

Top Databases

These are our most popular databases used at AAEL to find articles.

ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Full-text archive of ACM publications, including journals, magazines, transactions, proceedings, and newsletters.
Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
Covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Citations to articles from architecture and related periodicals, emphasizing the fields of architectural design and history.
Compendex (on Engineering Village) This link opens in a new window
Provides international coverage of engineering and applied science literature in journals, conference proceedings, and technical reports.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to IEEE transactions, journals, magazines, conference proceedings, standards and online courses, plus related e-books.
Web of Science (All Databases) This link opens in a new window
Cross-search access to: Web of Science, BIOSIS, Zoological Record, MEDLINE, etc.
ProQuest Technology Collection This link opens in a new window
Global database combines full text journals with indexing of global literature on technology and applied science, including materials science, aerospace engineering, mechanical engineering, civil engineering, condensed matter physics, computer science and electronic engineering.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
International multi-disciplinary indexing & abstracting database for scientific, medical, technical, and social sciences.

Last Updated: Nov 13, 2024 1:08 PM

Subjects: Course Help, Engineering

Tags: orientation