FAQInternational Patent ProtectionIntroduction to Understanding PatentsOther Sources for Information & HelpPatent AttorneysPatent Printing Resources
About TrademarksFAQ
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
MLibrary Home | Mirlyn Search Tools MGet It Ask a Librarian
University of Michigan
Admin Sign In 

Patents and Trademarks  Tags: patents_and_trademarks engineering  

This subject guide provides a starting point for research in patents and trademarks.
Last update: Aug 28th, 2009 URL: http://guides.lib.umich.edu/content.php?pid=35640  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Patents             Print Page
  
 

Patents

Use the drop-down links in the "Patent" tab above to find more information about patents.

Caveat: At U of M, we can't do the search for you. No exceptions. We are happy to help people get started, but for legal reasons, patent and trademark searches must be done by the people who will use the results. We have plenty of expertise in using the searching systems. We even know a bit about the law. But none of us are trained intellectual property lawyers, so none of us can give legal advice (which is what doing such a search for somebody is).

 

Searching for Patents

Please note: We are here to help, but we cannot search for you.


If you intend to make, use, or sell an invention of yours, you should find out whether someone else has created something like it already. You have a number of options when it comes to searching for patents.

The US Patent & Trademark Office (USPTO) has in recent years made many resources available over the World Wide Web. Below are some of the resources available. For a complete listing of USPTO web resources and their limitations, please see the USPTO website.

To view images of patents, you will need what is called a plug-in that works with your web browser. For more info, see USPTO's plug-in information. The database can be searched on the web, with the following important restrictions:

Patents issued since January 1, 1976 - present All fields searchable
Images of patents issued 1790 - 1975 Searchable by current class number and patent number only.

Once you've identified a patent that you'd like to look at, the easiest way to view the patent is to use Patent Fetcher or another patent printing resource. Just enter patent number, and these sites can generate a PDF file that you can download.

General Patent Searching - Resources
Unless otherwise noted, websites are accessible from any computer, on or off-site.

US Patent & Trademark Office - Patent Searching
http://www.uspto.gov/patft/
Covers US patents issued from 1790 to the most recent weekly issue date. See the USPTO website for important notices concerning the database.
European Patent Office
http://ep.espacenet.com/
Search for European, PCT, and Japanese patents.
CIPO - Canadian Patents Database
http://patents1.ic.gc.ca/intro-e.html
A Canadian Patent database with data from 1989 to the present, and includes the patent number, classification, and title of patents.
Japan Patent Office
http://www.jpo.go.jp/
A searchable database of Japanese patent abstracts, which includes the patent number, title, inventor, company, and abstract of the patent.
PubWEST Searching
Covers 1920-most recent weekly issue. Onsite use at the Art, Architecture & Engineering Library.
CASSIS CD-ROM Searching
CD-ROM covers 1969-most recent quarter. Onsite use at the Art, Architecture & Engineering Library.
Google Patents
http://www.google.com/patents
Search and view over 7 million patents the Google way. Includes full images

Other Ways to Search for Patents

The material that existed before resources were made available on the World Wide Web still exists in many places.

If a Patent and Trademark Depository Library is nearby (e.g., the University of Michigan's Art, Architecture & Engineering Library), you can search using the Index of Patents series of books. These work particularly well when you know the patentee's name (usually patentee=inventor) and roughly when the patent got issued. They are also important for finding information about older (pre-1970) patents.

If you want to search using other criteria, such as words you would expect to see in the title or abstract of your patent, you can search using the USPTO World Wide Web resources, or the other resources listed above.

Online Tutorials and Guides


Caveat: At U of M, we can't do the search for you. No exceptions. We are happy to help people get started, but for legal reasons, patent and trademark searches must be done by the people who will use the results. We have plenty of expertise in using the searching systems. We even know a bit about the law. But none of us are trained intellectual property lawyers, so none of us can give legal advice (which is what doing such a search for somebody is).

 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageLeena Lalwani
 

MTagger

Coming soon

Site Feedback

Tell us what you think about our new site: What do you like? What don't you like? How we can improve it more? Send your comments using our feedback form.

Copyright

Creative Commons

Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons license. Additional permissions are available.

© 2009, Regents of the University of Michigan

Description

  Loading content... please wait