Quick Links for Standards Access
- IHS Specs and StandardsAccess to full text of ASTM standards.
- IEEE XploreAccess to IEEE Standards.
- KnovelSearch in Knovel for access to some ASME Boiler & Pressure Vessel Codes.
- ASSISTAccess to Military Specifications.
- SAI Global Standards InfobaseUM users may search for standards in the SAI Global Standards Infobase. (Restricted to U-M faculty/staff/students for U-M sponsored teaching and research use only. Authentication required.)
Getting Standards from the Art, Architecture & Engineering Library
How Do I Get a Copy of a Standard in the Art, Architecture & Engineering Library?
Access the standard(s) you need based on the issuing agency:
* ASTM Standards can be downloaded from IHS Standards Expert.To find an ASTM standard:
o Click on 'IHS Standards Expert.'
o Enter your standard number in the 'Document Number.' field and 'ASTM' in the 'Text' field; click on 'Search.'
o Find your standard in the list and click on 'View.'
o Read the copyright agreement and click on 'Accept' to download the PDF.
* ASME Standards - Some ASME standards are available through Knovel:
- 2007 ASME Boiler & Pressure Vessel Code. Section II - Materials
- 2004 ASME Boiler & Pressure Vessel Code. Section II - Materials
- 2001 ASME Boiler & Pressure Vessel Code. Section II - Materials
* AWWA Standards - Some AWWA standards are available through Knovel. Look for AWWA standards in Knovel by entering a search for AWWA and then the standard number (for example: AWWA M42).
* IEEE Standards are accessible via IEEE Xplore (authorized U-M users only).
* SAE Standards are included in the SAE Handbook, which is kept in the reference collection on the second floor. The current edition is available on CD-ROM. Ask for help at the Library Reference Desk.
* Building and Energy Codes - Building, fire, and energy codes, including standards from ICC, NFPA, ASHRAE, and State of Michigan building codes, are available online through MAD CAD:
* AAMI - Association for the Advancement of Medical Instrumentation standards are available on CD-ROM at the Taubman Health Sciences Library. For assistance, please contact Taubman staff at 734-764-1210.
*ACI - American Concrete Institute standards are published in the ACI Manual of Concrete Practice, available online. Please follow the link from the Mirlyn catalog record. For assistance, please contact AAEL staff at 734-647-5735.
* OSHA & MiOSHA - Occupational Safety & Health Administration standards are available online at the OSHA website: http://www.osha.gov/pls/oshaweb/owasrch.search_form?p_doc_type=STANDARDS&p_toc_level=0&p_keyvalue=
Michigan Occupational Safety & Health Administration standards are available online at the MiOSHA website: http://www.michigan.gov/dleg/0,1607,7-154-11407_15368---,00.html
* Military Specifications - The Department of Defense has made many military standards available for free (registration and approval is required for access). Please see DoD's ASSIST (at http://assist.daps.dla.mil/) website for coverage. Some Military Specifications may also be available via the SAI Global Standards Database (UM-Ann Arbor affiliated users only).
* Municipal Codes - Online access to municipal codes of over 1,000 local governments in the United States is available through Municode.com
* Historical standards - The Art, Architecture & Engineering Library maintains a small collection of historical standards in print format. A searchable database of these standards holdings is available via Historical Standards at AAEL.
* For all other standards not listed above, UM-Ann Arbor affiliated users may request that the standard be ordered via the SAI Global Standards Infobase (library staff will review the order then forward the standard on to you if approved). If you need help using the ILI Database, please contact the Reference Desk.
If You Are Not a User of the UM Art, Architecture & Engineering Library
(UM-Dearborn & UM-Flint affiliates should contact their respective libraries for standards access.)
If you are a non-UM affiliated user who wants to use our standards collection, you may freely visit our library. However, there are few resources available to non-UM affiliates through the Art, Architecture & Engineering Library. You may also request standards through the Michigan Information Transfer Source (MITS) sevice:
MITS
http://www.lib.umich.edu/mits/
734-763-5060
Among the resources that are available to you in the AAEL are
o SAE Handbook (CD-ROM and paper format, available in the Reference Collection)
A good resource for finding and acquiring a standard is NSSN, a searchable database of global standards that will link you to where the standard may be acquired (usually for a fee).
There may also be other sources outside of the Art, Architecture & Engineering Library available to you, including:
o Other libraries in your area
o Military standards over the WWW.
o Standards suppliers (for-pay document delivery services):
TechStreet 800-699-9277; http://www.techstreet.com/
IHS 800-525-7052; http://www.ihs.com
ILI 201-986-1131; http://www.ili-info.com
Library Contact |
Links: Profile & Guides |
Library Help
The current on-duty librarian for the library-wide Ask a Librarian IM service is available when you see a green dot at the top of the box.
See http://www.lib.umich.edu/ask for additional contact methods.
Library Help
The current on-duty librarian for the library-wide Ask a Librarian IM service is available when you see a green dot at the top of the box.
See http://www.lib.umich.edu/ask for additional contact methods.



Loading...
