Images

Access to over 7,000 digital images from the archival photographic images, art and memorabilia images and Rare Book Collection illustrations.

Search or browse by company name or instrument to find images from trade catalogs and other commercial documents.

Can browse photos by category; such as, Landscapes, Nature & Weather, Science & Space, Underwater, etc.

Mapping Science communicates human activity through maps by visualizing data. Click on Browse Maps to see examples.

Search over 550,000 image and other media files within the Smithsonian Collections.

Images showing the history of chemistry prior to 1850.

Wikimedia Commons is a media file repository with public domain and freely-licensed educational media.

Digital archive of geoscience related images.

Images from and for Geology 101, Cornell University.

Geology Photos put online by Marli Miller, professor at the University of Oregon.

Download Google Earth for map views of the world, including terrain, satellite imagery, oceans, etc.

Allows browsing by mineral class and name.

Allows searching by location, properties, chemistry, and name.

Database of mineral species descriptions and images.

Images from the National Geophysical Data Center documenting natural hazards (earthquakes, volcanic eruptions, etc.) from the Marine Geology and Geophysics Division.

Includes interactive maps and downloadable data for regional and global Geology, Geochemistry, Geophysics, and Mineral Resources.

View and download images, video, and audio from the entire USGS image collection.

Access to over 7,000 digital images from the archival photographic images, art and memorabilia images and Rare Book Collection illustrations.

Provides images of human and non-human primate skeletons.

A partnership of museums, societies, and foundations etc to provide information about life on earth.

IHM provides access to nearly 70,000 images in the collections of the History of Medicine Division of the National Library of Medicine.

A database of images, paintings and letters related to the plant sciences. You can search by location, collection, plant type, etc.

Site features current, past and upcoming exhibits of the Smithsonian Museum of Natural History.

Search images from UofM's amphibian, mammal, and fish collections.

Browse through many collections of images relating to the environment.

Browse by category to see photographs and visualizations of environmental issues and events.

Images relating particularly to the oceans, marine life, etc.

A directory of image sites created by the Space Science and Engineering Center, Univ. of Wisconsin, Madison.

Browsable image galleries on various environmental topics.

A comprehensive collection of micrograph images of industrially important alloys.

A database of chemical structures and property predictions.

Chemical structure search available via the NIH.

Images from the Hubble space telescope.

Videos from the Hubble space telescope.

Click on the Multimedia Tab to find images.

Explore NASA images by topic.

A searchable database of images from NASA.

A directory of image sites created by the Space Science and Engineering Center, Univ. of Wisconsin, Madison.

The Sloan Digital Sky Survey (SDSS) is one of the most ambitious and influential surveys in the history of astronomy. From 2000-2008, it obtained deep, multi-color images covering more than a quarter of the sky and created 3-dimensional maps containing more than 930,000 galaxies and more than 120,000 quasars.

Live cameras focusing on the weather -- searchable by state/location.

View roads and highways, signs, etc before you travel. Click on Shield Gallery to see thousands of highway signs.

Browse Auto Spies galleries for photos of cars and car shows.

Images from the historical archives of the Lincoln Highway Association (1910-1927).

Galleries of photos relating to construction machinery as well as trucks and cars.

Photos and videos searchable by locomotive type, state, railroad, and/or photographer.

Photos of trains by type, manufacturer, country, etc. for train enthusiasts.

Images of air, water, and land transportation from the American Geographical Society.

Interactive map with endpoints for all U.S. highways.