Images

From the Duke University collections, over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955.

A digital archive of vintage television commercials dating from the 1950s through the 1980s.

Access to over 7,000 digital images from the archival photographic images, art and memorabilia images and Rare Book Collection illustrations.

Online access to over 500,000 photos with detailed captions from the AP news wire. Includes all photos from US and abroad added in the previous 365 days (800 per day) plus many selected older photos from 1844 to the present. Updated continuously.

Click on the Images Tab to search JSTOR Images (formerly ARTstor). Collections include historical and documentary images.

Thousands of broadsides, pamphlets, posters, tickets and other printed items from across America. Part of Duke Digital Collections.

Scanned images from the Billy Ireland Cartoon Collection at OSU.

The collection of Charles W. Cushman's nearly 15,000 kodachrome slides is a photographic document of American social history in the twentieth century.

Over 13,600 images of high resolution images with an emphasis on the American continents during the 18th and 19th centuries.

Advertising images from 1850-1920.

Europeana is a single access point to millions of books, paintings, films, museum objects and archival records that have been digitised throughout Europe.

Over 175,000 photographs documenting life in America between 1935 and 1944. Government agencies involved include the Resettlement Administration (1935-1937), the Farm Security Administration (1937-1942), and the Office of War Information (1942-1944). The negatives are now part of the Library of Congress Collections.

Public domain photography collections supplied to Flickr by museums around the world.

Search over 7 million patents, including full images.

A portal to three collections of primary source materials: one of 19th c. British Pamphlets, one of World Heritage sites in Africa, and one of political struggles and independence movements in S. Africa.

Photograph holdings of the Labadie Collection on social protest and radical politics, housed in the Univ. of Michigan Special Collections Research Center.

Diverse collections of images provided by the Library of Congress.

Extensive collection from the photojournalist magazine chronicling American life and events over the last century and a half.

A variety of collections of images from various sources covering history, social science, and the arts.

Over 600 advertising items and publications from 1850 to 1920 illustrating the rise of consumer culture in the US.

Thousands of digital movies ranging from broadcasts to cartoons to films.

Information about and access to some video and audio clips from the National Archives.

Provides access to descriptions (and some clips) of early American film.

Several thousand images from the collections of the NPS, including park architecture, Native American heritage, roads and transportation, CCC, etc.

A guide to finding Native American images in the Library of Congress Prints & Photographs Division.

Over 685,000 images across disciplines from the NYPL Photographic Collections.

News photos and graphics from the New York Times and partner publications.

Over 870,000 images, video and audio files from the New York City Municipal Archives featuring the history of the city. Search by collection or by keyword.

Over 700,000 images from the NY Public Library's image collection.

Links to a range of exhibits relating to moments in US history, such as elections, work, etc.

Over 30,000 images of outdoor advertising and slide presentations of OAAA. From Duke University Digital Collections.

Access to records and images of English archaeological, architectural, and martime heritage.

Free images relating to walking and biking. The site is sponsored by the PBIC at the University of North Carolina Highway Safety Research Center.

A web-based platform for searching, organizing, and visualizing over 170,000 photographs dating from 1935-1945 created by the US Farm Security Administration and Office of War Information.

Over 2,100 posters covering social protest movements such as Anarchism, Civil Liberties, Colonialism, Communism, Ecology, Labor, Sexual Freedom, Socialism, Women, etc. collected over the past 100 years.

Several thousand images from collections of the Archives of Labor and Urban Affairs and the relating the history of Detroit; including urban development, politics, civil rights, ethnic communities, etc.

A searchable database of ove 5,000 images of African art published before 1921. The images are extensively catalogued.

Russian political posters from 1920's forward.

Search over six million records with 536,000 images, video and sound files and other resources from the Smithsonian's museums, archives, and libraries.

(UM only) The Vanderbilt Television News Archive is an extensive archive of television news -- providing access to broadcasts since August 5, 1968.

View and download images, video, and audio from the entire USGS image collection.

Wikimedia Commons is a media file repository with public domain and freely-licensed educational media.

(UM only) An image database provided by the cooperative efforts of the Library of Congress and the United Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization.