Images

Images of the history and architecture of Ann Arbor.

Images of the most important documents of American history.

Historical Collections for the Library of Congress Digital Library. The collections provide rich primary source materials relating to the history and culture of the United States.

Approximately 1200 images culled from many sources, most of them dating from the period of slavery.

Thousands of broadsides, pamphlets, posters, tickets and other printed items from across America. Part of Duke Digital Collections.

The collection of Charles W. Cushman's nearly 15,000 kodachrome slides is a photographic document of American social history in the twentieth century.

Over 13,600 images of high resolution images with an emphasis on the American continents during the 18th and 19th centuries.

Over 175,000 photographs documenting life in America between 1935 and 1944. Government agencies involved include the Resettlement Administration (1935-1937), the Farm Security Administration (1937-1942), and the Office of War Information (1942-1944). The negatives are now part of the Library of Congress Collections.

20th century history through the cartoons of Herb Block.

Photograph holdings of the Labadie Collection on social protest and radical politics, housed in the Univ. of Michigan Special Collections Research Center.

Access to most of the images and catalog records of the LOC Prints & Photographs Unit.

Extensive collection from the photojournalist magazine chronicling American life and events over the last century and a half.

Over 3,000 images from the Lincoln Highway Association (1910-1927).

Shared public collections of images of historical and cultural interest.

Several thousand images from the collections of the NPS, including park architecture, Native American heritage, roads and transportation, CCC, etc.

A guide to finding Native American images in the Library of Congress Prints & Photographs Division.

News photos and graphics from the New York Times and partner publications.

Over 870,000 images, video and audio files from the New York City Municipal Archives featuring the history of the city. Search by collection or by keyword.

Links to a range of exhibits relating to moments in US history, such as elections, work, etc.

A web-based platform for searching, organizing, and visualizing over 170,000 photographs dating from 1935-1945 created by the US Farm Security Administration and Office of War Information.

Two collections from the Smithsonian American Art Museum comprising over 5,500 images featuring the Ashcan School Artists and American artists of the early 20th century.

Over 2,100 posters covering social protest movements such as Anarchism, Civil Liberties, Colonialism, Communism, Ecology, Labor, Sexual Freedom, Socialism, Women, etc. collected over the past 100 years.

Directory of and information about the U.S. Presidential Libraries (supplied by the National Archives and Records Administration).

Several thousand images from collections of the Archives of Labor and Urban Affairs and the relating the history of Detroit; including urban development, politics, civil rights, ethnic communities, etc.

A searchable database of ove 5,000 images of African art published before 1921. The images are extensively catalogued.

Search over six million records with 536,000 images, video and sound files and other resources from the Smithsonian's museums, archives, and libraries.

View and download images, video, and audio from the entire USGS image collection.

Features images of maps, letters, diaries, newspapers, portraits, etc. from the Civil War in the Shenandoah Valley of Virginia.

A portal to three collections of primary source materials: one of 19th c. British Pamphlets, one of World Heritage sites in Africa, and one of political struggles and independence movements in S. Africa.

Photographs from the Dumbarton Oaks ICFA Collections that were taken in Egypt and Greece between 1910 and 1930.

Online gallery of virtual books and online exhibitions with objects from the British Library Collections.

A collection of over 3,000 images of Chartres Cathedral, including stained glass, sculpture, structure, and views.

Corsair is the online research resource of the Pierpont Morgan Library providing access to over 250,000 records for medieval and Renaissance manuscripts, rare and reference books, literary and historical manuscripts, music scores, ancient seals and tablets, drawings, prints, and other art objects.

Images of endangered Jewish sites across the Middle East and North Africa.

Europeana is a single access point to millions of books, paintings, films, museum objects and archival records that have been digitised throughout Europe.

Documents and images from the Bibliothèque Nationale.

Access to archival collections of the Griffith Institute focusing on ancient Egypt.

Access to records and images of English archaeological, architectural, and martime heritage.

Over 300,000 images of England's built heritage, including buildings, bridges, churches, gravestones, lampposts, etc.

An interactive database combining Vasi's views of Rome and Nolli's map of Rome to give a comprehensive and phenomenal view of 18th century Rome.

Approximately 1300 images of Ottoman-Islamic architectural monuments in Southeast-Europe. Additional images will be added. Sponsored by the Netherlands Institute in Turkey (NIT).

A visual resource of historical sites in Sicily, c. 1100- c. 1450. A project created at Duke University.

Images of art and design throughout history, presented in timeline format.

Photographs from UC expeditions to Egypt, the Sudan, ancient Iran, and Iraq.

Russian political posters from 1920's forward.

Images of the Middle East from photographs and postcards of the late 19th and early 20th centuries, particularly of Cairo.