Images

A portal to three collections of primary source materials: one of 19th c. British Pamphlets, one of World Heritage sites in Africa, and one of political struggles and independence movements in S. Africa.

A rich archive of images of architectural monuments, landscape architecture, public art, etc.

Click on the Images Tab to search JSTOR Images (formerly Artstor), a rich archive of images of art and architectural monuments, landscape architecture, public art, and cultural images.

850 searchable case studies of buildings: expertly authored texts, architectural drawings and photographs selected from Birkhäuser manuals.

A database of visual and textual content of the German architectural magazine, Detail, from 1987- present.

A database of over a million digitized images from the Conway and Witt Libraries of the Courtauld Institute.

Panoramic Views of Cities, Monuments and Landscapes.

Panoramic views and videos with birds-eye views of cities and monuments around the world.

Online resource for ArchNet, an online community devoted to the study of Islamic architecture, art, and culture. The archive contains numerous collections of images related to Islamic architecture.

This site provides thousands of images (including panoramas) of art and architecture, primarily of the Mediterranean Basin and Japan. Many other countries are represented as well.

A database of nearly 20,000 images of Asian architecture compiled by contributors. Check copyright information with each image for use rights.

Site with Agora monuments marked and quick-time video of many of the monuments.

Images by architectural photographer, Balthazar Korab, provided by the Library of Congress. The Korab Collection includes a lot of Detroit and Michigan architecture.

Images and data for nearly 2 million pictures of art and architectural monuments from 13 European countries. The index includes the Marburg Index.

Images of works by Canadian architects.

A collection of over 3,000 images of Chartres Cathedral, including stained glass, sculpture, structure, and views.

Images of endangered Jewish sites across the Middle East and North Africa.

Images of architecture from around the world -- provided by Prof. Sullivan, Bluffton College

Public domain photography collections supplied to Flickr by museums around the world.

(Temporarily unavailable) The Digital Image Collection documents many of Wright's early buildings in the Chicago area. Featured are the Wright home and studio, Robie House, and other Chicago area houses.

Access to records and images of English archaeological, architectural, and martime heritage.

Over 300,000 images of England's built heritage, including buildings, bridges, churches, gravestones, lampposts, etc.

An interactive database combining Vasi's views of Rome and Nolli's map of Rome to give a comprehensive and phenomenal view of 18th century Rome.

The ICMA has initiated a Flickr photostream for members and anyone interested in medieval art to download images of medieval art.

Approximately 1300 images of Ottoman-Islamic architectural monuments in Southeast-Europe. Additional images will be added. Sponsored by the Netherlands Institute in Turkey (NIT).

A web resource where one can browse and search images and maps relating to Ann Arbor's history and development.

Images and information about built monuments of 12th and 13th century France.

A visual resource of historical sites in Sicily, c. 1100- c. 1450. A project created at Duke University.

Over 870,000 images, video and audio files from the New York City Municipal Archives featuring the history of the city. Search by collection or by keyword.

Over 700,000 images from the NY Public Library's image collection.

Free images relating to walking and biking. The site is sponsored by the PBIC at the University of North Carolina Highway Safety Research Center.

A searchable database with images and statistics to over 80,000 high-rise buildings from around the world. (The images may not be downloaded.)

SAH Image Exchange is an image database for teaching architectural history. Illustrated monuments span history and geography.

Though not purely an image database, Spatial Agency features many images of architecture. One can search or browse various architectural movements and firms of the 20th and 21st centuries.

The DCL Image Bank contains all the U of Minnesota image collections, including collections related to urban design and landscape issues (focusing on the Twin Cities metropolitan region). Use their Advanced Search form to narrow your search to particular collection(s).

Multiple digital image collections with particular emphasis on Milwaukee and Wisconsin subject matter.

A searchable database of historical and contemporary architecture as well as architectural forums and resources.

Wikimedia Commons is a media file repository with public domain and freely-licensed educational media.

Profiles of contemporary architects. Searchable by country or by name.

Public lectures on architectural themes posted by the Architectural Association in London.

Archived interviews and recordings from several major architects.

Since 1983 this project has documented contributions of architects to Chicago during the 20th century.

An archive of over 1000 hours of architecture and design lectures and events at SCI-Arc (Southern California Institute of Architecture).