Images

Use JSTOR Images Tab to search over one million images, including former Artstor content.

A growing database of over 3,000,000 digital images from museums, galleries, private collections and contemporary artists all copyright cleared for educational use.

Europeana is a single access point to millions of books, paintings, films, museum objects and archival records that have been digitised throughout Europe.

Public domain photography collections supplied to Flickr by museums around the world.

A database of digital images, texts, clips and recordings related to the performing arts.

Extensive collection from the photojournalist magazine chronicling American life and events over the last century and a half.

Browse or search the MoMA collections.

Over 700,000 images from the NY Public Library's image collection.

Online version of the comprehensive art reference work covering all forms of the visual arts: painting, sculpture, architecture, graphic and decorative arts, and photography, from prehistory to the 1990s. Includes 41,000 articles and 10,000 color images.

Browse or search images within the Costume Institute Collections.

Several rare and unusual published resources of interest to students of western dress and fashion from the 19th to the early 20th-century. Includes historical surveys as well as manufacturers' booklets and sample swatch catalogs.

Extensive directory of 19th and 20th century costume types for inspiration. Select one of their galleries to see numerous illustrated examples.

Professional organization devoted to theatre technology. (No images, but a useful organization to know about.)

IBDB (Internet Broadway Database) archive is the official database for Broadway theatre information. IBDB provides records of productions from the beginnings of New York theatre until today.

A postcard collection of theatres and concert halls worldwide.

A growing database of over 3,000,000 digital images from museums, galleries, private collections and contemporary artists all copyright cleared for educational use.

From the Library of Congress, a presentation that includes over 13,000 images of stage and costume designs, still photographs, posters, and scripts.

500 hours of opera performances through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries. (U-M Only)

From the Czech Republic, a database focusing on theatre architecture of the Czech Republic, Slovenia, Hungary and Poland. Search by architect, location, etc.

Hosted by the Arts and Theatre Institute in Prague, the database offers access to images of stage production, scenography, costume, etc.

Library of Congress Collections of archival film offers lists of videotapes highlighting American history. available for order. Scroll down to see the collections.

You can search for images of movie posters -- you won't get really big images, but you'll see the posters for film and stage.

From the Library of Congress, a searchable filmography that documents the work of some 1,000 major jazz and blues figures in over 16,000 cinema, television and video productions.

A comprehensive list of television sites maintained by the National Film Preservation Board, Library of Congress.

The Detroit Public Library collection of sheet music from the late 18th century to 1922 documenting contributions of Blacks to the performing arts.

The Historic American Sheet Music Project provides access to digital images of 3,042 pieces from the Duke University collection, published in the United States between 1850 and 1920.

Sheet music collections from Indiana University, Indiana State Museum, Indiana Historical Society, and the Indiana State Library.

A small collection, but all music has to do with inventions (telephone, radio, automobile, airplane, etc.).

The Lester S. Levy Collection of Sheet Music (Johns Hopkins University) consists of over 29,000 pieces of American popular music.

Over 22,000 works from the late 19th and early 20th centuries from Maine collections.

A part of the American Memory Project (Library of Congress), includes over 47,000 pieces.

Over 700,000 images from the NY Public Library's image collection.

From the Baylor University Collections, the Spencer Colleciton contains approximately 30,000 titles from the 18th through the early 20th century.

Nearly 22,000 pieces of sheet music dating back to 1865, including examples of Blues, Minstrels, Irving Berlin, movie tunes and show tunes, etc. from Mississippi State University.

A research collection covering the history of popular music in the United States from 1790 to the present.

Many other sheet music collections are listed on this guide.

bout 2000 pieces from highlighting the Yiddish-language musical stage, including photographs of performers, composers and musical productions.