Skip to Main Content
Library Research Guides

Epidemiology

Provides resources, strategies, and information on conducting research in Epidemiology.

Library Contacts

 

CPhotograph of Lateesa James

Lateesa James lateesaj@umich.edu  Epidemiology

 

Photograph of Gurpreet Rana

Gurpreet Rana  preet @umich.edu  Global Epidemiology

Overview

Welcome to the research guide for Epidemiology, which provides detailed lists of information sources to help answer your research questions.

If you've been searching for for awhile and can't find what you're looking for, feel free to give us a call! Your informationist can:

  • Help with your literature search
  • Give you tips for finding data or survey instruments
  • Teach you advanced techniques for database searching
  • Orient you to the library resources available through UM
  • Teach you about citation management tools (EndNote, Mendeley, Zotero) that can save you time in creating citations & bibliographies for research papers

Quick Links

Library Catalog Search
Includes details about all print & electronic books & journals in U-M libraries.

Library Search Online Journals Search  
Contains links to the full text of electronic journals available to UM affiliates.

Journal Citation Reports
Aa resource for journal evaluation, using citation data drawn from over 8,400 journals.

Library Search Database Browse
Find available databases & other online research tools by subject or title.

MGetIt button

 

MGet It gives you access to the full text of online articles when you're searching article databases. If the full text is not available, you can have the article scanned (if the library owns the journal in print) or requested from another institution via Interlibrary Loan.

Finding Covid-19 Evidence

Find information on COVID-19 quickly using these resources. The Front Door searches high quality meta-analyses, literature syntheses, & clinical guidelines from multiple sources in one place.

To search in PubMed, see the links below. To find results in more resources, including preprints, see this article: Farhad Shokraneh, Rapid Response:Keeping Up with Studies on COVID-19: Systematic Search Strategies and Resources. BMJ 2020;368:m1199. You can then modify the searches to make them more focused on the precise question that you're asking.

Please note: the links below go to public PubMed, not to PubMed @ UM.

For search strategies for OVID Medline, see the link below.

For even more resources, please see the COVID-19 (Novel Coronavirus) research guide.