Starting point: General scholarly databases
PubMed (with UM journal links)
PubMed indexes biomedical, nursing, dentistry and related journals as the premier database of health sciences journal literature. U-M users only.
Database includes information on international health, biomedical life sciences, non-communicable diseases, public health nutrition, food safety and hygiene. Contains more than 1.2 million records from 1910-present. UM users only
A current, evidence-based resource for diagnosis, treatment, teaching and research in the fields of global infectious diseases, epidemiology, and microbiology.
The Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health (CINAHL) database provides authoritative coverage of the literature related to nursing & allied health. U-M users only.
Database of literature in the health sciences, life sciences, and social sciences. Provides a broad coverage of international literature. U-M users only.
Extensive research database, especially strong in searching for international biomedical literature and pharmaceutical literature. U-M users only.
Contains citations & summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, & technical reports in the field of psychology & the psychological aspects of medicine, psychiatry, & public health. U-M users only.
Global Index Medicus
From the World Health Organization. Global Index Medicus provides worldwide access to biomedical and public health literature produced by and within low-middle income countries.
Health Policy Reference Center
A database including information relevant to many areas integral to health policy, including: access, administration, economics, planning, reform, insurance, law, research, ethics, public health, and social medicine. UM users only.
Lets you search broadly for scholarly literature. It searches a variety of resources, including PubMed, electronic journals, and Google Book Search.
Next step: Global health scholarly sources
Disease Control Priorities, 3rd edition (DCP-3)
The series provides evidence on intervention efficacy and program effectiveness for the leading causes of global disease burden.
The Lancet Global Health Portal
The Lancet articles, reports, podcasts and other information focusing on issues and trends in global health.
JAMA Global Health Collection
Global health topics, including world infectious disease, maternal-child health, and resource and workforce challenges.
LILACS (Latin American & Caribbean Literature on the Health Sciences)
Database of health sciences literature published in Latin American & Caribbean countries since 1982. Covers 670 of the most well-known biomedical journals and other documents, including theses, books, books chapters, conference proceedings, technical and scientific reports and governmental publications.
WHO International Clinical Trials Registry Platform
Aims to provide a single searchable database of information about ongoing and completed clinical trials registered around the world in clinical trial registries.
Global Health Cost Effectiveness Analysis (GH CEA) Registry
A free database that compiles research literature on the economic value of global health interventions
NatMed Pro (formerly Natural Medicines)
An international research collaboration that synthesizes data on complementary and alternative therapies. May be useful in investigating cultural medicine. UM users only.
Investigating further: Interdisciplinary scholarly sources
Africa-Wide Information (EBSCO)
Databases South African Studies and African Studies include: articles, books, newspapers, government documents, radio and TV broadcasts, pamphlets, and maps. Covers politics, history, economics, development, social issues, law, and culture. UM users only.
Design for Health
To accelerate the use of design in addressing global health challenges, the Gates Foundation and USAID’s Center for Innovation and Impact (CII) have partnered to develop resources to support the understanding, appropriate use, and effectiveness of design in global health.
An open-access collection of health market literature.
Online library of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD). Includes full-text of all books, papers, 24 periodicals and OECD statistical databases. UM users only.
Provides the world's largest collection of policy documents, guidelines, think tank publications, and working papers.
PAIS Index (Public Affairs Information Service)
Database of public affairs and public policy worldwide. Contains books, government documents, statistical directories, research and conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche and Internet material. UM users only.
Women's Studies International
Literature of women's studies worldwide. Includes journals, newspapers, books, proceedings and grey literature. UM users only.
The World Bank eLIbrary
Provides the comprehensive and fully searchable collection of the World Bank's books and policy research working papers.