Classical Studies

Explore citation methods used in Classical Studies, as well as tools and common abbreviations. 

Although Classical Studies doesn't have a single citation style, many publications use a variation of Chicago Manual of Style or MLA handbook. A full list of style manuals is located below.

• The American Journal of Archaeology (AJA) has a style guide that incorporates elements from the Chicago Manual of Style. 
• The Society for Classical Studies (SCS) has a style sheet for TAPA which is used by other publishers

Both the AJA and TAPA style guidelines are good places to start if you are not sure how to format your citation. 

You might also look at how former Classical Studies graduate students formatted their citations in their dissertations published in U-M's Deep Blue repository. Here are three examples:

• Imperial Ideals and Provincial Realities by Craig Harvey (2020). Program: Classical Art and Archaeology.
• The Performance of Identity in Classical Athens by Allison Kemmerle (2019). Program: Greek and Roman History.
• Emotion in Politics by Mara Kutter (2018). Program: Classical Studies.

The U-M Library has a Citation Help Research Guide.
 

Style guides require the use of journal and reference work abbreviations in citations. Here are three examples:

• L'Année Philologique provides a list of abbreviations.
• The American Journal of Archaeology (AJA) provides a list of abbreviations.
• The Oxford Classical Dictionary provides a list of abbreviations.

Furthermore, style guides require the use of ancient author and title abbreviations in citations. In general, square brackets [ ] indicate erroneous or doubtful attributions and should not be removed from your citation. Here are two examples:

• The Oxford Classical Dictionary provides a list of abbreviations.
• The Perseus Digital Library Project provides a list of abbreviations.
   

Citation management software helps you:

• organize references, PDFs, and images for quick retrieval
• take notes on references and PDFs
• format bibliographies and in-text citations in hundreds of citations styles
• share references and collaborate on projects with colleagues

Find more information on citation management tools here, including comparing tools, how get started, how to get help, and more.